General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
underwhelmed underwhelmed is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,375
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Default Disabled HD in Bios, Leopard still sees it - 06-07-2009, 06:04 PM

I was making a fresh install to an external hard drive attached to USB to try in my G4 Power Mac Cube(The DVD drive eats discs) I was using the Mini Boot123 disc and my Leopard DVD. I had disabled the SSD in the Bios, and when I got to the screen in the installer to choose the drive to install to, there was the external drive as well as my mini 9 ssd.

Luckily, I am already running 10.5.7 so it had a yellow triangle on the drive icon and said it couldn't be installed there because it was a newer version, but I could have wiped out my install in Disk Utilities if I had clicked the wrong drive. Not likely, but possible.

Anyway, the bios settings seem to take a back seat to the OS settings, and hadn't seen this posted before, so I figured I should report it. Might help someone else


Mini 9 | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB Runcore | 2 GIGS RAM
10V | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351 |BIOS 06|160 GB|1 GIG RAM| 6 Cell Dell Battery
Functioning Hibernation

Back up Mini 9| OS X 10.6.7| NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB SuperTalent | 2 GIGS RAM
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
jim5055 jim5055 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 33
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-08-2009, 12:20 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by underwhelmed View Post
I was making a fresh install to an external hard drive attached to USB to try in my G4 Power Mac Cube(The DVD drive eats discs) I was using the Mini Boot123 disc and my Leopard DVD. I had disabled the SSD in the Bios, and when I got to the screen in the installer to choose the drive to install to, there was the external drive as well as my mini 9 ssd.

Luckily, I am already running 10.5.7 so it had a yellow triangle on the drive icon and said it couldn't be installed there because it was a newer version, but I could have wiped out my install in Disk Utilities if I had clicked the wrong drive. Not likely, but possible.

Anyway, the bios settings seem to take a back seat to the OS settings, and hadn't seen this posted before, so I figured I should report it. Might help someone else
Yup seen the same thing, not on a dell mini but on my dell SC440 server now running 10.5.4. I can disable drives in bios and this effectively sets the boot drive - the enabled drive is now the boot drive - but once OS X is running all drives installed can be seen. As one such drive is my safety drive (duplicate OS X copy) I power it down to avoid such near misses.


-----------------
Dell Mini 9 32GB SaberTooth-AA SSD, 2GB RAM, Camera, B'tooth, 16GB SDHC OSX 10.5.7
Macbook Pro 320GB, 4GB RAM OSX 10.6.3
Dell SC440 Q6600 CPU, 4GB RAM, GeForce 9600GT GFX, OSX 10.5.7
ASUS eee1000HE, 10.6.2, with wifi card replaced with Apple card.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
underwhelmed underwhelmed is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,375
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Default 06-09-2009, 04:04 AM

I was going to remove the SSD, but assumed disabling it in BIOS would keep it from being seen or accessed by the installer.

Oh well, lesson learned. No harm, no foul.

Just thought it might help someone else to post the information.


Mini 9 | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB Runcore | 2 GIGS RAM
10V | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351 |BIOS 06|160 GB|1 GIG RAM| 6 Cell Dell Battery
Functioning Hibernation

Back up Mini 9| OS X 10.6.7| NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB SuperTalent | 2 GIGS RAM
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.