Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
jednhec jednhec is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Help Installing windows 7 please - 10-01-2011, 11:53 PM

Ok so I bought the windows seven disc there is nothing on my harddrive I put the dell drivers disc in then after that i put the new windows disc 32bit in well it went to the windows start up but now its saying it can partition the drive ughhhhhh all I want is to use my cpu is this because I am missing a particular driver or something that is not on my dell drivers disc I am doing a fresh install of 7 the hard drive has nothing else on it?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
FerociousMini FerociousMini is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 10-02-2011, 01:28 AM

More detail please. What size SSD is in your Mini 9? Use the forum search.... This is what I found.
http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/wind...-mini-9-a.html
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 10-02-2011, 01:31 AM

NO DVD DRIVE NEEDED:

THIS PROCEDURE HAS BEEN USED BY MANY, I HAVE OVER A THOUSAND DOWNLOADS ON THIS


re-create the USB stick using this:


Download this utility.....I used it many times and hundreds (over 736 at last count) have also
link:
http://rapidshare.com/files/36803054...SB_0-2-3_2.exe

make sure 1st that you prep the USB drive..theres an option to format it (RMPrepUSB) on the 1st screen and make sure you check off the Win 7 then on the 2nd screen use the NTFS option on the left

1st screen


2nd screen



Good Luck....let me know if you need more help..........

Complete Instructions Here:

WinSetupFromUSB – Install Windows XP from USB Flash Drive « myeeeguides.wordpress.com

and yes it works for Win 7 also, just check off the box for Win 7..see 1st screen



DON'T FORGET TO RELOAD YOUR DELL DRIVERS ALSO!!


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 10-02-2011 at 01:33 AM.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
jednhec jednhec is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default updated info - 10-02-2011, 03:07 AM

sorry it has a new supertalent 32gb hd with supertalent 2gb ram, I have an external dvd drive and when i set up to boot from it it runs the windows 7 disc and it says starting set up i select my time zone etc....then it starts with step 1 and an error comes up saying it cant partition the drive? do I have to install xp first then do an upgrade to 7 i dont understand how the thumb drive thing would work but not the disc install? Thanks for all the help
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-02-2011, 03:28 AM

no you dont have to do an upgrade, just either install XP or Win 7.....its your choice


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
jednhec jednhec is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default 10-02-2011, 02:47 PM

so whats causing the error....can not partition?
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-02-2011, 03:20 PM

if you go into the BIOS what does it show for the size of the SSD?...if it says 0mb then your SSD is DEAD, also is the Windows 7 disk an Upgrade disk or a Full Version, if it is just an Upgrade then YES you do have to install XP 1st, if the Windows 7 disk is the Full version you should be able to install it without installing XP 1st....


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 10-02-2011 at 03:23 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
jednhec jednhec is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default big time update - 10-02-2011, 04:13 PM

I was searching all over and found a post that said i needed to reformat my hard drive to ntfs format well I did that and as of this moment windows 7 is installing to answer your question though in the bios it is showing up

---------- Post added at 11:13 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:58 AM ----------

just got error code 0x80070057 Windows cannot copy files required for installation. The files may be corrupt or missing. Make sure all files required for installation are available, and restart the installation. wth
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.