Dell Mini 10v Forum for all discussions and support on the Dell Mini 1011, also known as the Mini 10v. If your question is regarding Mac OS X, please use the Mini 10v Mac OS X forum.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
theunnamed theunnamed is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 10-14-2012, 07:02 PM

I checked the HDD in my inspiron 6400 and it boots up normally. So the mobo is the thing then..
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-14-2012, 07:15 PM

could be, have you tried to remove and re install the memory?, do you get any beeps or anything?, also have you tried to reset the BIOS back to default?


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
theunnamed theunnamed is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 10-14-2012, 07:17 PM

I reset the bios to default, nothing changed.
No beeps.
I didn't reseat the memory, I watched a video to dismantle it but it seemed a little bit hard to me so I didn't.
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-14-2012, 07:35 PM

the memory should be right next to the hard drive under the keyboard


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
theunnamed theunnamed is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 10-14-2012, 07:47 PM

Now watched the video and saw that I have to remove the mobo to reach the ram.

Here is the video I'm talking about

Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 10-14-2012, 09:02 PM

yeah, I didn't watch the video but I checked the service manual for the 1011, I guess they changed it from the 1011 to the 1012 and 1018, those are located right under the keyboard...yours appears to be more difficult to reach, it probably wouldn't work anyway, the memory is probably seated ok, it usually doesn't just pop out, all though it is possible....at least your memory isn't like mine, I had to replace the daughter board and processor just to upgrade to 2gb and it was MUCH more expensive also, not sure what else to tell ya but it seems as the HD is fine, only otber thing I could think of would be the mobo, you didnt get any kind of a power surge or anything did you?, I always plug the power adapter into the wall BEFORE connecting to the system, some people plug it into the system 1st then in to the wall outlet, I dont like that idea, if there is gonna be any kind of a spike/surge or anything I would prefer my Mini not be connected at the time....but thats just me, I also have a single outlet surge suppressor attached to my power supply just in case and I recommend that to all my clients also....maybe check the 'For Sale' section on the board here or Ebay and see if you can get a cheap 1011 for parts or something

Good Luck


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
theunnamed theunnamed is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 10-14-2012, 09:08 PM

I'm not sure about the power surge but it stayed on power almost for a week in sleep mode. I guess during that time something unusual happened. I will send it to a technician to check. By the way, I'm living in Turkey and I think its not a good idea to buy from ebay Anything can happen during the shipment. I checked the local websites but haven't seen any on sale. Thank you for your kind help, I really appreciated that.
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 10-14-2012, 09:48 PM

I NEVER use sleep mode, I use hibernate, it writes everything in memory out to the HD and when you turn it back on it reads the hibernation file and brings you right back to where you left off, sleep mode actually keeps the system up and running which I don't like....here are a few for sale:

Links:

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale...-mini-10v.html

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale...mini-10vs.html

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale...sx-10-6-a.html (OSX is not included)

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale...ian-black.html

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale...t-machine.html

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale...-mini-10v.html

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/sale...imate-x86.html


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 10-14-2012 at 10:07 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
theunnamed theunnamed is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 01-31-2014, 12:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
I NEVER use sleep mode, I use hibernate, it writes everything in memory out to the HD and when you turn it back on it reads the hibernation file and brings you right back to where you left off, sleep mode actually keeps the system up and running which I don't like....here are a few for sale:
I solved the problem after a looooooong time

It was not the mobo, the LAN controller. My LANcontroller is dead (I'm happy that I have Wi-Fi ) In the post screen the blinking cursor was steady while checking the integrity of LAN controller.

I disabled it in the BIOS, now It works like a charm

It was an easy solution but took me more than 1 year
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 01-31-2014, 11:36 PM

yeah you know something, I got like close to $800 in my Mini, ($500 to buy it (maxed out completely), $160 for 2gb motherboard, $110 for 1 terabyte drive) and I never even use it anymore, if I were to sell it I would have to ask at least $750 (which I am sure I will never get so its easier to keep it)....but ya know ever since I bought my iPad 4 (64gb Retina)...I don't even use my Laptop never mind the Mini...its still a cool machine, 2 pounds w/1000gb 500Win7 500Win8.1,TV tuner,wifi,Bluetooth,HD, like 9 hr battery...but the iPad still blows it away...no bootup,no hibernate,no restore,no nothing, I flip the lid and I am online in like 2secs (no exaggeration)....and the apps are so small you don't need 1000 gigs, but I do wish I would have gotten the 128gb iPad version (down to like 25gig available)..anyway glad you solved it and Good Luck to ya


BTW: the resolution on the iPad blows away my Mini (HD is 1366x768), and I hate to admit it but it also blows away my HP Laptop (1440x900) too..Ipad is 2048x1536


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 01-31-2014 at 11:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.