Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades Discuss Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
snboard2286 snboard2286 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Oct 2008
Send a message via AIM to snboard2286
Default Touch Screen Question? - 10-19-2008, 04:52 PM

Anyone see and touch screen mods for these bad boys????


Dell Mini 9 running OSX 10.5.5 and LOVE IT!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
medicThree medicThree is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 403
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Middle Earth
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-19-2008, 04:58 PM

nope. Not aware of any 8.9" touch screens out there as of yet.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Nunim Nunim is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-19-2008, 08:27 PM

Ebay has a bunch of 8.9" touchscreens but I haven't seen any pictures of touchscreen mods on Dell Mini's yet.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
UnaClocker UnaClocker is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,744
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olalla, WA
Send a message via AIM to UnaClocker Send a message via Yahoo to UnaClocker
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-19-2008, 10:08 PM

The first person to do this AND document it well on our Mini9's will be a hero.


Tired of wondering if your Mini9 is doing ANYTHING? - Add a HDD Activity LED
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
mrwolff mrwolff is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: E-Town, WA
Send a message via MSN to mrwolff
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-20-2008, 08:19 AM

Anyone know if buying the kits for the Eee's would work or should I get a general one? What about the ones that say solderless? I know those are for the Eee and it says that it uses the web cam plug. Do we know if it'd be that simple? I really have been wanting to do this mod.

Also any suggestions for a retailer on Ebay or for specs I should look for? And what about multi touch?


Everything that is down can go up, but only some of what is up can go down.
|Type11 EFI 10.5.5, 2gb, Touch screen in progress|
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
RabidRat RabidRat is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-21-2008, 08:46 PM

Man.. as soon as my midterms are over I'm going to look right into this, probably do it if I find that it's feasible.

http://cgi.ebay.com/EASY-8-9-SOLDERLESS ... 286.c0.m14
This one looks promising. I'll have to open this thing up and see if we can use this too.


Dell Mini9
[obsidian black] [1x2GB sodimm] [revised keyboard] [next mod: touchscreen]
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
mrwolff mrwolff is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: E-Town, WA
Send a message via MSN to mrwolff
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-21-2008, 11:58 PM

I opened mine up the other night and it looks like we can use those. Even the hub for the webcam and stuff too I believe. I'm not exactly sure. But I will be ordering mine pretty soon. Probably next week.


Everything that is down can go up, but only some of what is up can go down.
|Type11 EFI 10.5.5, 2gb, Touch screen in progress|
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
RabidRat RabidRat is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 14
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Vancouver, BC
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-22-2008, 12:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrwolff
I opened mine up the other night and it looks like we can use those. Even the hub for the webcam and stuff too I believe. I'm not exactly sure. But I will be ordering mine pretty soon. Probably next week.
Does it look like we can retain webcam functionality at the same time? Will the hub accept multiple plugs into it?


Dell Mini9
[obsidian black] [1x2GB sodimm] [revised keyboard] [next mod: touchscreen]
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
mrwolff mrwolff is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: E-Town, WA
Send a message via MSN to mrwolff
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 10-22-2008, 08:35 AM

From what I saw in the pictures online and in the mini yes. But it's gonna be more about finding room for the hub I think. And if the hub doesn't work out then I should be able to just wire it up much like the integrated gps mod.


Everything that is down can go up, but only some of what is up can go down.
|Type11 EFI 10.5.5, 2gb, Touch screen in progress|
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
Deldotb Deldotb is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Re: Touch Screen Question? - 11-19-2008, 03:46 AM

Guys, I am very close. I have it working with a test USB cord connected to one of the external USB plugs, so I'm there except for connecting it up to the USB bus internally and find room inside for the touch screen controller. When I get it finished, I'll post it here and maybe the moderator will make it an article on the home page.

I have the US version, so I'm thinking the empty WWAN space should be plenty. Any suggestions for the location of the internal USB? Read some of the eee PC installs, but the layout seems different for the Dell Mini.

Hopefully I'll have this done and documented this weekend.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.