Dell Mini 1010 Forum for all discussion and support on the first revision of the Dell Mini 10, the Dell Inspiron Mini 1010.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
youngkyle youngkyle is offline
Junior Member
 
youngkyle's Avatar
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Covina, CA
Default Dell 1010 Windows 7 install questions - 12-07-2009, 07:36 AM

Hello, I have a Dell Mini 1010, and since OSX isn't exactly an easy install for it, I was wondering if there was an easy install guide for windows 7 on it.
The BIOS it A11. But I was wondering if I should be downloading a netbook version of Windows 7? or is it fine simply installing a normal version of windows 7 Ultimate x64 on it. Or should it be x32?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Pixar Pixar is offline
Member
 
Posts: 70
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Iowa City, Iowa
Default 12-07-2009, 11:03 AM

I installed Windows 7 Pro 32 bit (full) (ultimate is fine) but You can only use 32 bit.

Someone tell me I am wrong if you can install 64 bit, but I do not think so.
You will love 7 on there.
Good luck. Oh I bought another drive and installed and kept the factory drive on the shelf just in case I did not like the change.
So far the factory drive is on the shelf, and that was over a month ago! :-)


(2) Dell Mini 10's, Alpine White,2GB RAM, Product Red, 1GB RAM, 500GB Drive (both), TV Tuner, Bluetooth, 1.3MP Camera, 1366x768 High Def Screen, 6 cell Battery, Windows 7 Pro.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-07-2009, 01:53 PM

you can only run 32bit version of EVERYTHING...just copy win7 setup to a USB drive and boot to USB and install..win 7 runs great on the 1010....


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
youngkyle youngkyle is offline
Junior Member
 
youngkyle's Avatar
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Covina, CA
Default 12-07-2009, 07:07 PM

Thanks rrfranczak3.
But I can't seem to boot Windows 7 from just throwing it onto a usb.
I have a windows 7 ISO that has both versions. And when I try to boot from usb, it just goes back to starting up windowsXP. Any Ideas? Does the usb have to be formatted a certain way?
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
WolfKeeper WolfKeeper is offline
Retired Mini user
 
WolfKeeper's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default 12-07-2009, 07:49 PM

I have never seen a Windows 7 ISO (or real disc for that matter) that contains both 32 and 64-bit versions. Dell doesn't make one (it's one or the other), and Microsoft retail packaging includes each build on a separate disc. I'd be wary.

As for "throwing it on a USB stick", you have to prepare the USB stick and make it bootable before you copy the files to it. Easiest way (IMO) is to use diskpart under Windows 7/Vista.


Getting an iPad
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-07-2009, 09:06 PM

dont know if you know it or not, but in addition to what wolfkeeper said, when you boot you must hit I believe its f12 to get into the bios to change the default boot device to USB not Disk....just arrow down to it and hit enter..


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
youngkyle youngkyle is offline
Junior Member
 
youngkyle's Avatar
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Covina, CA
Default 12-08-2009, 06:33 AM

Aha! alright, I got it setup and installed.
I just threw the ISO onto a usb at first.
I found out that I had to mount it and copy the files from there to the USB.
So, now it worked and installed perfectly fine.
Thank you all for your input. It's working like a charm!
Much smoother thank Windows XP.
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
Dunhamzzz Dunhamzzz is offline
Founder
 
Dunhamzzz's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,855
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Dunhamzzz
Default 12-09-2009, 02:48 PM

make sure you do a Windows update to get the latest drivers!


Please do not send me support requests via PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
youngkyle youngkyle is offline
Junior Member
 
youngkyle's Avatar
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Covina, CA
Default 12-09-2009, 08:43 PM

Oh, yes, I've updated everything.
I wanted to make sure it was running in tip top shape. Because I had to work on it for a friend.
Gave it to him last night. But My 10v should be arriving next week.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bios, install, questions, step by step, windows 7

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.