Windows XP The default Windows installation, Discuss tips, tweaks, drivers and more!

(#1) Old
Default Windows FLP - 10-08-2008, 12:55 AM

First let me say hi , I am a new Dell Mini owner who just found this forum. I had previously owned a Asus EEE PC 701 and loved the size but my eyes were straining with the screen, so when Dell released their version I had to pick it up. That and being a native of Austin, owning at least one Dell is suggested. I use my Dell Mini as a secondary computer for when I travel, and use it around my house for IM'ing and basic surfing.

Anyway onto my post, I have been a veteran of using small machines and wanted to make a suggestion to others on this board. There is a version of Windows that I have been using that works really really well on these netbooks. Its called Windows for Legacy PC's, this version of windows is not available for purchase and is only supplied to the Software Assurance group from Microsoft (and various other places if you look hard enough). It was created when XP came out and was meant to be used by corporations for use with older pc's that large companies didn't want to replace when XP came out. So it has a much smaller footprint then normal XP, it has been stripped of some options that normal XP has but I have never found a need for those options, or if I have needed them I have found a way to install them on FLP. For all intensive purposes Windows FLP act's feels, and behaves like XP. Microsoft's own Windows update program tries to suggest install Windows XP SP3 onto it even though it won't install. All the Dell drivers work off the CD and I have yet to find a program that tries to say its not Windows XP. To give you an example of how small it really is, with a freshly formatted drive, FLP, firefox, VLC, and Digsby, installed takes less then 4 gigs, with paging file of 192 mb.

If you have any questions about this feel free to post here and I will do my best to answer them.
  (#2) Old