Windows 7 Discussion on Windows 7 and operating it on the Dell Mini series.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
rychastings rychastings is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Windows 7 RC1 on Dell Mini 9 Error - 07-18-2009, 08:01 PM

I've had windows 7 build 7077 on my dell mini 9 with an 8GB SSD for a long time, but i was finally forced to upgrade to windows 7 RC1 when build 7077 expired. I do not have an external dvd drive so I use an 8GB flash drive.

I have tried many times to do a clean install, once using the download from microsoft unchanged, and about 5 or 6 different vlite configurations, following different guides, but none work. They all do the same thing, as follows.

The setup works fine and it goes the "installing windows" screen. It says it successfully copied the files, extracted them, installed features, installed updates, then it gets to "completing installation" at the very end of the install and then an error message pops up saying "Windows Setup could not configure Windows to run on this computer's hardware."

I don't know if the "hardware problem" is because of my SSD size (although i vlite'd the install down to 3 or 4 GB. The only hardware change I have made to my mini 9 is upgrading the 512mb ram to 2gb.

Any help would be appreciated as I now have a mini 9 that is basically dead.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
holmes4's Avatar
Posts: 6,157
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 07-18-2009, 09:19 PM

I would first point the finger at vlite - it is very easy to render a system unusable with that, as many have found.

Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
rychastings rychastings is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 07-19-2009, 08:17 PM

do you know if any of the newer builds, such as 7600, require less install space? If I don't use vlite, it won't fit on my 8GB SSD, because the actual size that windows recognizes is 7.2GB. I don't want to upgrade my SSD because I think the cost defeats the purpose of having a cheap netbook to take everywhere.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
nicke261192 nicke261192 is offline
Posts: 39
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Sheffield, UK
Default 07-19-2009, 08:29 PM

Dell Studio 15 - Core 2 Duo 2Ghz, 4GB RAM, 250GB HDD, Bluray
Dell Mini 10v - Atom 1.6Ghz, 2GB RAM, 16GB SSD
Dell Mini 10v - Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB RAM, 160GB HDD
Dell Mini 10v - Atom 1.6Ghz, 1GB RAM, 8GB SSD
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
rychastings rychastings is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 07-22-2009, 04:09 AM

Originally Posted by nicke261192 View Post
thanks nicke, I actually found your guide already. It was quite helpful and I used your preset, but I still got the same error.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
hodgeswalt hodgeswalt is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 07-22-2009, 06:46 PM

Sorry for the duplicate message. Is it necessary to download the "WAIK" when attempting to launch VLITE?

I do not own a DVD burner, so I do not believe I can use VLITE.

Reply With Quote

« Does Windows 7 Ultimate 7600 work with Mini 10v? | Windows 7 USB Boot Utility »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016