Windows 7 Discussion on Windows 7 and operating it on the Dell Mini series.

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
dekoy dekoy is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Question Weird Blur on Taskbar - 07-14-2009, 08:00 PM

Anyone have any idea what is causing this?
Its a fresh install (as in like 1-2 hours old :P) of Win7RC, nothing really special installed. Windows update ran and got whatever intel gfx driver was there...but yeah wondering if anyone else has seen this and if they know how to fix it. - Should also say its purely cosmetic, it doesnt stop me from clicking in the blurred area at all.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
psyopper psyopper is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 410
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Portland, Oregon
Default 07-14-2009, 08:08 PM

I don't know Windows 7 but it looks like you are running the Aero Glass interface. Your taskbar is overlapping the top bar of the window you are viewing. Sometimes this happens if you have your taskbar set to autohide but it isn't hiding.

Essentially you are looking through your task bar to the window behind it.

Sometimes this also happens when you are using non-released software...

Bringing you quality hand made fitted sleeves for the Mini 9 since January
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
dekoy dekoy is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Default 07-14-2009, 08:19 PM

Well I tried disabling the "glass" look and its still there. The taskbar hasnt been on autohide, it is set to small icons but even if its set to large it still has a little blur beneath it! This is why I was confused by the issue haha!

I suppose it could just be the RC coming into play on lower end hardware :P

[edit] well the setting (after playing with alot of them) that fixes it is Enable Desktop Composition. It needed to be disabled. Doesn't look as good, but i guess thats a minor price to pay XD
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
jej.514 jej.514 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 282
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: DeKalb, IL (near Chicago)
Default 07-14-2009, 10:27 PM

Happens to me when I resize the taskbar. It was back to normal after a reboot. Have you rebooted?

Mini 9 | Black | 32GB RunCore SSD | 2GB RAM | .3MP cam
Windows 7 Home Premium
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
drew1515 drew1515 is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 07-15-2009, 02:21 AM

this is what I have done for this same problem

right click on desktop-->Personalize -->

at the bottom of the screen click Window Color

Pick a Color
uncheck Enable transparency
and slide Color intensity all the way to the right
click Save changes
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
dekoy dekoy is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Default 07-15-2009, 03:59 AM

I had rebooted, yes.
And thanks for the tip Drew!

(btw win7 is niiiiice getting almost 4hrs with just wifi and browsing at lowest brightness)
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Z4i Z4i is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Tampa, FL
Default 07-15-2009, 09:24 AM

It's supposed to be blurry. All the Aero glass window decorations and such blur the background, that's how MS designed it. I happen to like it like that, I think it looks good.

Unix fanatic
Vostro A90, 16GB SSD, 2GB DDR2, US-INTL Keyboard, FreeBSD 7.2-STABLE
Latitude E6400N, 2.4GHz, 4GB, 320GB, Opensolaris 2009.06 updated to build 118
Dell Tech Support agent
Reply With Quote

blur, glitch, windows 7

« Is there a way to maintain aspect ratio? | Dual-boot question »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016