Dell Latitude 2100 Discussion on the Dell Latitude 2100, a rugged 10-inch netbook released to the educational market.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
thundertracks thundertracks is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 322
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northeast Pa. U.S.
Default Add Memory to Latitude 2100? - 08-15-2009, 06:07 PM

The specs manual says 2 sodimm sockets. I only see one under back cover, am I missing something?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
WolfKeeper WolfKeeper is offline
Retired Mini user
 
WolfKeeper's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default 08-15-2009, 06:16 PM



Getting an iPad
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
thundertracks thundertracks is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 322
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northeast Pa. U.S.
Default Memory in Lat. 2100 - 08-15-2009, 06:24 PM

Hi, Thanks for the reply, So if there is already a 1Gb chip in the sodimm socket under back cover the machine is maxed out on Ram? Correct? Thanks
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
WolfKeeper WolfKeeper is offline
Retired Mini user
 
WolfKeeper's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default 08-15-2009, 06:36 PM

There is 1GB soldered to the main board. You can add up to another gig via the socket I believe.

I was going to open one to verify but all our units are offsite right now.


Getting an iPad
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
thundertracks thundertracks is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 322
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northeast Pa. U.S.
Default Memory in Lat. 2100 - 08-15-2009, 10:49 PM

Yes, You are right, What threw me off was my 2100 from the outlet was only supposed to have the 1gb permanent chip. So when I opened it up there was a 1gb in the sodimm socket also. When I looked in the Dell specs manual it lists 2 sodimm sockets in the 2100. So it already has 2gb installed. Thanks for the replies.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
desantii desantii is offline
Member
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 08-22-2009, 03:08 AM

I jsut had to try it, stuck a 2gb dimm in thre but no boot. Oh well. This is with Bios A02


Mini 9 2gb 32gb Runcore, Win 7
Mini 10v N280 2gb 30gb OCZ Vertex, 1024x600, Win7
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Dettery Dettery is offline
Member
 
Posts: 60
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 10-22-2009, 07:26 AM

i think you can consider adding up to another gig via the socket .


focus on the battery development.
http://www.batterystyle.com
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
kuyamon kuyamon is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 10-26-2009, 08:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfKeeper View Post
There is 1GB soldered to the main board. You can add up to another gig via the socket I believe.

I was going to open one to verify but all our units are offsite right now.
I just ordered one that says 512 MB integrated memory. Does that mean I have 512 MB of on board memory or 512 MB in the socket plus 1 GB on the main board? I will not have mine for about a week.


Dell Mini 9: Obsidian Black, 32gb ST SSD, 2gb RAM, 1.3MP webcam, 4gb SD, 2x 16gb USB thumb drives, 40gb and 160gb external notebook drives
Primary OS: Mac OSX
Secondary OS: Ubuntu NBR
Case: Caselogic Ultra Portable 7-10.2 in. Laptop Attache
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
pmronline pmronline is offline
Member
 
Posts: 33
Join Date: May 2009
Default Kingston 2 GB - 10-29-2009, 12:12 AM

Per Kingston, 2GB memory stick may work:

Kingston Technology Company - Kingston Memory Search - Search Results for:

anybody successful?


Latitude 2100 | BIOS A02 | 1024 x 600 | 2GB RAM |
160GB HD | WIN 7 | TOUCH SCREEN | 5100 AGN | Black

Mini 10V | BIOS A06 | 1024 X 600 | 1GB RAM | 160GB HD | MAC OSX 10.6.7
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
thundertracks thundertracks is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 322
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Northeast Pa. U.S.
Default Lat 2100 - 10-29-2009, 12:50 AM

Reply to KUYAMON, You have 512mb integrated in the board, if it only mentions the 512 then that is all you have, you can add another 1gb in the dimm slot, that is what I have in mine, 1.5 gb is plenty for these notebooks. Reply to PMRONLINE, Supposedly 2gb is the max the Atom will allow.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.