Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

(#1) Old

Question Dell mini 9 needs help! - 10-22-2019, 10:37 PM

Hi All,

I have been chasing some way of using this little computer for many years but am unable to figure it out. I'd love to hackintosh it, I have the snow leopard disc, but all the supporting software to make that happen is gone. I even still have everything to do a hackintosh on the 10v but have no idea if the same thing would work on the 9.

Might anyone have any old leftover software that does work I could buy? I have hackintoshed several mini 10's and sent them on to others. I'd even be willing to put xp back on it if that was possible.

I hate to put this little one in the trash. I have ubuntu on it now and have installed more ram but just don't want to take the time to learn a new OS.

Any advice, input?

Thank you very much for reading.

Last edited by labrat; 10-22-2019 at 11:26 PM.
  (#2) Old

Default 02-06-2020, 09:53 PM

Edit: As of right now, you can get the osx.mechdrew.com site in the wayback machine. Here's a direct link to the netbookbootmaker file. https://web.archive.org/web/20111125...%20RC1.app.zip

Hey, I figured I'd go ahead and reply since no one else has and it's been months. If you've still got the thing and still want to use it, here is some advice/possibilities:

1. Learn linux. It's really not that bad and is probably the best bet for old hardware that was pretty limited when it was new. I don't know what you've got in your mini 9 but mine's still got the original 8gb ssd it came with. The distro I'd recommend at this point would be regular old debian stable or the Raspberry Pi Desktop.

2. Use XP. I don't have anything I could sell you but finding a clean usable copy at this point should be relatively easy. This is a poor option at this point if you expect to connect to the internet at all. There are a lot of unpatched exploits for XP and no updated browsers or antivirus will support it.