General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
sircharles sircharles is offline
Member
 
Posts: 69
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-06-2009, 05:00 AM

Like it says! Is it possible? I'm considering doing the dual boot thing and, if I install Parallels (3) or VMWare, is it possible to boot them from the XP partition? As we all know, space is at a premium in the Mini9, even with a 64GB, so it would be cool not to have the extra few gigs...

Apologies if this is a lame q - I remember seeing something about Parallels booting from an XP partition a while ago so I thought I'd ask.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
UnaClocker UnaClocker is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,744
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olalla, WA
Send a message via AIM to UnaClocker Send a message via Yahoo to UnaClocker
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-06-2009, 05:08 AM

Actually, it's better to have the Virtual machine be a drive image than be a partition because the drive image will only be as big as it has to be. The disk image grows as you fill it, so it takes up as little space as possible. I have XP installed on parallels this way.


Tired of wondering if your Mini9 is doing ANYTHING? - Add a HDD Activity LED
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
km9 km9 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-06-2009, 05:30 AM

Parallels Desktop 4 does not run on Mini 9, since the software requires a CPU that implements VT (which Atom N270 does not). VMWare Fusion 2 has no such problem.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
UnaClocker UnaClocker is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,744
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olalla, WA
Send a message via AIM to UnaClocker Send a message via Yahoo to UnaClocker
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-06-2009, 06:04 AM

Yeah, use Parallels 3, not Parallels 4..


Tired of wondering if your Mini9 is doing ANYTHING? - Add a HDD Activity LED
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
nvrmore100 nvrmore100 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 422
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Colorado Springs, CO
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-06-2009, 04:08 PM

I'm pretty sure that neither will boot properly off another disk partition, as they assume you are using BootCamp to make it happen. Our psuedo-EFI doesn't support BootCamp, so I think it will get confused.
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
ezeitler ezeitler is offline
Member
 
Posts: 48
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-07-2009, 05:17 AM

Or use Virtual Box from Sun which is free!


White mini9, BT, 802.11n, 2G RAM, 16G STEC HD, BIOS A05, Mac OS X 10.6.7
White mini9, 802.11n, 2G RAM, 16G STEC HD, BIOS A05, Mac OS X 10.6.7
Red mini9, 802.11n, 2G RAM, 16G Runcore HD, BIOS A05, Mac OS X 10.6.7
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
UnaClocker UnaClocker is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,744
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Olalla, WA
Send a message via AIM to UnaClocker Send a message via Yahoo to UnaClocker
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-07-2009, 05:26 AM

Maybe it's just me.. Virtual Box crashes if I look at it wrong. I've never been able to even complete the XP Installer..


Tired of wondering if your Mini9 is doing ANYTHING? - Add a HDD Activity LED
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
sircharles sircharles is offline
Member
 
Posts: 69
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-07-2009, 01:42 PM

Yeah, Una already told me use P3 (which is why I mentioned it in the first post ).

Anyway, I dunno...I still can't decide whether to go dual boot on use P3 or Fusion.... To be honest, I'm thinkin' the only reason to dual boot is cuz I can...the sheer cool factor ("hey, check this out! I can run either X or XP!). I never use XP on my Macbook, but...the thing is a Dell after all so I'm worried about one day needing some option I can only access through Windows and I might have to re-install then... Suggestions? Help yo!
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
G2244 G2244 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 135
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-07-2009, 02:31 PM

If you have a 64Gb drive, then you have upgraded correct? Just make sure XP is on your original drive. In the rare instance you need XP, just swap the drive out and reboot. Certainly not an elegant solution but if you expect to rarely need XP it is an option anyway.


Former owner of... (sold through this site)
Dell Mini 9
Other Mods - 2Gb RAM, RunCore "64"Gb SSD, Dell Wireless 1505 b/g/n, Dell Bluetooth, US "Int'l" Keyboard
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
sircharles sircharles is offline
Member
 
Posts: 69
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default Re: Parallels or VMWare using XP partition? - 01-08-2009, 06:01 AM

G2244: I don't even have the mini 9 yet...still waiting for it. I ordered the 32G.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.