Mac OS X Guides Guides for installing and configuring Mac OSX on your Dell Mini.

Comment
 
Tutorial Tools Display Modes
  Old
mbbrocks mbbrocks is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default HOWTO: Using mobile broadband / WWAN module in OSX - 01-26-2009, 12:30 PM

If you've got a Mini 9 with the Dell 5530 HSPA / Mobile Broadband module, here's what you need to know to get it going:


From http://www.mobilebroadbandrocks.com - your essential guide to Mobile Broadband
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 11-26-2009, 11:33 AM
wallyworld wallyworld is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I know the feeling, but I can tell you that the only way I got the modem to work was to install windows.

When I tried to work with it otherwise, I could "AT" the modem and it would return "OK" but it would not accept the command to turn on the WWAN portion. This has to be done with the Dell utility that actually turns on the power to the WWAN.

In terms of the Windows install, here is what I did.

When you get to the point of installing on the second partition, you need to delete the partition created for windows, recreate it and then format it as NTFS. This is the only way I got it to work. I did this with the Win7 installer, but then, instead of installing Win7, I exited and came back in with the XP installer.

I had an extra issue in that I wanted to run Win7 and to do that I had to install XP first because the disk I had was a 3-machine Home Premium Upgrade disk and would not install without having an original XP install in there.

Pain in the ass... but it did work and has continued to work. I had to do the whole process a few times to get it to get it right and BTW, if you remove the battery without having the power cord connected, the system might turn off the modem and you will have to boot into Win to turn it on again, so you have to keep the Win install around for that purpose.

I'll be happy to answer any questions that are within my (admittedly) limited knowledge.

W.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 11-26-2009, 12:02 PM
blitr blitr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Hi,
That's what I suspected. I'll try again I suppose.

My problem is that when I've tried to install by:
- Creating GPT partition with Win7 (200MB EFI, 40GB FAT32, 120GB other)
- Install OS X
- Back to Win7 installer and it says the BIOS doesn't support booting from the disk

Are you using the A04 BIOS?

Maybe I can try and install Win 7 on a clean disk with the GPT partition then OS X. Although saying that I also have the 3-pack upgrade so maybe I should focus first on WinXP.

Ah well, more hacking. If it wasn't for the WWAN I'd leave it as is as it's a wonderful little Mac :-D

/Trev
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 11-26-2009, 12:07 PM
wallyworld wallyworld is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 8
Default

I think that the fundamental difference from your method and mine is that I actually started backwards.

I installed OSX and partitioned with the OSX disk utility, creating two partitions using GUID (gparted) and as HFS+ journaled.

I then deleted the second HFS partition with the windows7 installer and _then_ created and formatted a new NTFS partition for Windows.

This worked better for me because I'm more familiar with OSX.

It was definitely worth it for me because a wonderful little Mac with built-in WWAN is even cooler.

Yes, using A04 bios
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11-26-2009, 12:32 PM
blitr blitr is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Hmm, I'm pretty sure I've done it that way round but I'll try again.

Do you have a HDD or SSD?
I think at one point when messing about that I managed to change the disk geometry and have wondered if that is the problem although I have a nicely running OS X 10.6.2 install (which has never had any problems).

It'd be nice to know what the Dell utility is doing to switch the HW on.

Cheers,
/Trev
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 12-01-2009, 12:45 PM
Alcapowned Alcapowned is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: London
Posts: 29
Default

I had the exact same problem about the utility in Windows 7 - once I activated it in Win7 the script posted here suddenly sprang into life on OSX.

If you're having problems dual booting windows 7 and OSX, follow the guide below

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/dual...ndows-7-a.html

It's been updated for NBM 0.8.3 and higher.
__________________
Dell Mini 10v | 1GB | 160GB HDD | OSX 10.6.1 | NBM 0.8.3 RC2 | Windows 7 Ultimate | Ubuntu Netbook Remix | 5530 WWAN Vodafone UK
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 02-17-2010, 01:24 AM
hane hane is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 3
Default Cant see the Dell 5530 under Network perf

Hi guys.

Can anyone help me with this.
I put the script in the right location as per guide.
And when i got to Network interface i cant see Dell 5530 and also the same when i click on the "+" i only get
Airport
Ethernet
Bluetooth
VPN
PPPoE
6 to 4

I am 100% i have the card installed as this worked under XP and Ubuntu.
I can also see the card under About This Mac -> More Info -> Hardware -> USB.

Can anyone help me with this? where can i get the drivers from, etc?

Thanks
Hane
Reply With Quote
  #76  
Old 02-25-2010, 02:43 PM
Larry1 Larry1 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 22
Default

Just wanted to say thanks for this post- have finally managed to get my Mini9 working with an O2 Simplicity SIM from my iPhone.

Was just wondering if anyone knew of a way or a good program which monitored the amount of data being sent/received when using the 3G card? Worth remembering that although mobile phone providers say 'unlimited' browsing, it is normally only around 250mg, which can quickly be got through when using the real web.

Thanks in advance
__________________
Dell Mini 9 : OSX 10.6.2 : 0.8.3 NBI Final : BIOS A05
32GB Super Talent SSD : 2GB RAM
3G Modem - Working on O2 Simplicity
Bluetooth - Working
Audio/Mic - Working modified AppleHDA/IOAudioFamily
Reply With Quote
  #77  
Old 02-27-2010, 12:07 AM
tamorgen tamorgen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by indie1776 View Post
UPDATE
Can anyone offer any advice on how to get the original script on this thread to work in OS X 10.6.1?
Thanks
indie1776,
Did you ever get this working? I'm running the same Dell card on my Studio 14z running 10.6.2, and I'm getting the following on my tail log:

Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Apple Base Script.ccl Version 3.3
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Initializing phone: AT&FE0Q0V1
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Initializing PDP context: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","isp.cingular.com"
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Dialing: ATD*99***1#
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Waiting for connection
Fri Feb 26 18:59:39 2010 : Connection established
Fri Feb 26 18:59:42 2010 : Serial connection established.
Fri Feb 26 18:59:42 2010 : Using interface ppp0
Fri Feb 26 18:59:42 2010 : Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/cu.usbmodem2472
Fri Feb 26 18:59:43 2010 : CHAP authentication succeeded: Congratulations!
Fri Feb 26 18:59:43 2010 : LCP terminated by peer
Fri Feb 26 18:59:46 2010 : Connection terminated.
Fri Feb 26 18:59:56 2010 : Serial link disconnected.
Reply With Quote
  #78  
Old 03-01-2010, 01:06 AM
Bathing Ape Bathing Ape is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 3
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry1 View Post
Just wanted to say thanks for this post- have finally managed to get my Mini9 working with an O2 Simplicity SIM from my iPhone.

Was just wondering if anyone knew of a way or a good program which monitored the amount of data being sent/received when using the 3G card? Worth remembering that although mobile phone providers say 'unlimited' browsing, it is normally only around 250mg, which can quickly be got through when using the real web.

Thanks in advance
Hey Larry.

Rakmini posted this a while back called surplusmeter, I havent had a chance to install it yet but it looks promising

Quote:
Originally Posted by rakmini View Post
Here's an app that can track data usage: SurplusMeter. It has lots of options to match your billing cycle, and it's free! -- tutorial/review here
Reply With Quote
  #79  
Old 03-02-2010, 05:17 AM
tamorgen tamorgen is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tamorgen View Post
indie1776,
Did you ever get this working? I'm running the same Dell card on my Studio 14z running 10.6.2, and I'm getting the following on my tail log:

Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Apple Base Script.ccl Version 3.3
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Initializing phone: AT&FE0Q0V1
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Initializing PDP context: AT+CGDCONT=1,"IP","isp.cingular.com"
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Dialing: ATD*99***1#
Fri Feb 26 18:59:38 2010 : Waiting for connection
Fri Feb 26 18:59:39 2010 : Connection established
Fri Feb 26 18:59:42 2010 : Serial connection established.
Fri Feb 26 18:59:42 2010 : Using interface ppp0
Fri Feb 26 18:59:42 2010 : Connect: ppp0 <--> /dev/cu.usbmodem2472
Fri Feb 26 18:59:43 2010 : CHAP authentication succeeded: Congratulations!
Fri Feb 26 18:59:43 2010 : LCP terminated by peer
Fri Feb 26 18:59:46 2010 : Connection terminated.
Fri Feb 26 18:59:56 2010 : Serial link disconnected.
Anyone? This seems to have worked in the past. It works fine in Windows 7, running Sony Ericcsons wireless manager. AT&T's Wireless manage is garbage. Worked like once, then couldn't see it anymore.

Still trying to get this to run in OSX though. I'm running 10.6.2. There has to be a solution, and yes I do have the scripts.
Reply With Quote
Comment

« Previous Tutorial | Next Tutorial »
Tutorial Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.