Dell Latitude 2100 Discussion on the Dell Latitude 2100, a rugged 10-inch netbook released to the educational market.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
jwade jwade is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default 08-23-2010, 12:50 PM

yes it is, i used a razorblade and ran it between the two the whole way, dont pry it, there is a thin piece of plastic/sticky thing holding them together. need to slice that all the way around and it will come right off. i just put the touch screen on the new screen, no glue or anything between them, and it works perfect. i did use a little electrical tape on the side to make sure it doesnt move, you cant see the tape when insalled.
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
Dan_Shane Dan_Shane is offline
Member
 
Dan_Shane's Avatar
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 08-23-2010, 01:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jwade View Post
i bought a 1366x768 screen for my 2100, it did not have the touch screen, my 2100 does, i took a razor blade and carefully separated the touchscreen from the original screen. I then put the touch screen on the 1366x768 screen and put it into the 2100, everythign works perfect. I did have to recalibrate the touchscreen through windows.

the 1366x768 screen i bought was for a dell 1012, direct swap with the 2100 screen, no problems.
Where did you purchase you 1366x768 screen, and what was the price? This is a mod I definitely want to perform.


-- Dan Shane --

Dell Latitude 2100 | Ball Field Green | 2 GB RAM | 500GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)

Dell Inspiron Duo | 2 GB RAM | 320GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
jwade jwade is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default 08-23-2010, 06:18 PM

I was going to buy the 2110 for the screen resolution and the faster processor, but decided to give try swapping out my screen and touchscreen first, it worked out great, now if only i could figure out how to overclock the 2100.
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
Dan_Shane Dan_Shane is offline
Member
 
Dan_Shane's Avatar
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 08-24-2010, 12:15 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dan_Shane View Post
Where did you purchase you 1366x768 screen, and what was the price? This is a mod I definitely want to perform.
I answered my own question and found the screen I need at Bliss Computers:

DELL M875K LAPTOP LCD SCREEN 10.1" WXGA HD LED $45.99

If you prefer the glossy screen that have that as well:

DELL RKDY3 LAPTOP LCD SCREEN 10.1" WXGA HD LED $45.99

Great price at about $60 including shipping. I'll let everyone know how the project goes when my HD screen arrives.


-- Dan Shane --

Dell Latitude 2100 | Ball Field Green | 2 GB RAM | 500GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)

Dell Inspiron Duo | 2 GB RAM | 320GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
Dan_Shane Dan_Shane is offline
Member
 
Dan_Shane's Avatar
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 08-31-2010, 06:25 PM

Okay, that may be the best 60 bucks I have spent this year. Even though Bliss sent me the wrong display (glossy rather than matte) I am quite happy with the new experience.

Aero in Windows 7 does seem a bit more sluggish at the higher resolution, but OS X acts just as snappy as before the upgrade.

I doubt I will attempt any trickier mod on this little guy, and I don't want to request that Bliss exchange the TrueLife display for the matte version that I ordered. Those tiny connectors and cable probably won't take kindly to repeated abuse.

I may try a different Windows driver from Intel to see if I can get some speed back, but even if that doesn't provide any benefit I am perfectly content to have all this acreage on my Desktop. I'm not in need of a portable game or video machine. At last I can read my mail and manage my network without scrolling all over the place.

--Yippee!--


-- Dan Shane --

Dell Latitude 2100 | Ball Field Green | 2 GB RAM | 500GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)

Dell Inspiron Duo | 2 GB RAM | 320GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
hfs3 hfs3 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: May 2010
Default 08-31-2010, 07:05 PM

Did you need to get a new internal video cable, or was the plug located in the same spot on the new display? I have 2100 and haven't yet upgraded beyond 10.6.2 (w some issues). Perhaps I could pick your brain?
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
Dan_Shane Dan_Shane is offline
Member
 
Dan_Shane's Avatar
 
Posts: 81
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 08-31-2010, 07:55 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by hfs3 View Post
Did you need to get a new internal video cable, or was the plug located in the same spot on the new display? I have 2100 and haven't yet upgraded beyond 10.6.2 (w some issues). Perhaps I could pick your brain?
The new display was a straight swap with the old one. Single connector in precisely the same location.

I run 10.6.4 on my 2100, and the only glitches are no sleep, external VGA mirror doesn't work, and the screen is blank when OS X arrives at the desktop. I get around that by having a sleep corner set up so it wakes the screen when I (blindly) mouse to that corner and back out.

I discovered I was actually running the latest Windows display driver from Intel for the 945 Express chip rather than the Dell sanctioned driver. I downgraded to the Dell driver and Aero perked right up. I'm pleased as punch now.


-- Dan Shane --

Dell Latitude 2100 | Ball Field Green | 2 GB RAM | 500GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)

Dell Inspiron Duo | 2 GB RAM | 320GB 7200 RPM HD | Windows 8.1 Enterprise| Mac OS X 10.6.8 (Snow Leopard)
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
DanielN DanielN is offline
Senior Member
 
DanielN's Avatar
 
Posts: 159
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 2110 Touch Screen Upgraded to 1366x768 - 10-14-2010, 12:54 AM

I just upgraded my 2110 with touch screen with the $40.99 1366x768 matte screen. The most difficult part was removing the touchscreen glass. I tried using a razor blade but it was too brittle to separate and i was afraid i would crack the touchscreen. Using a hair dryer I loosened up the glue holding the touchscreen to the lcd panel and then i could use a razor blade. After separating the touchscreen I could re-attach it to the new panel. It was pretty easy and took me about 30 minutes total to do. I've replaced the screen on a Dell Mini 1012 as well and they use the same parts, except the glossy screen. I don't know why Dell doesn't do a 1366x768 panel w/ touch screen on the 2110, they definitely should.
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
DanielN DanielN is offline
Senior Member
 
DanielN's Avatar
 
Posts: 159
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Austin, Texas
Default 10-14-2010, 09:51 AM

Here's the latest drivers for the IdeaCom 6680 Touch Screen: UTS6680 3.3.0000.05 WHQL

It changed the device name in my Device Manger from HID-compliant Device to IdeaCom HID Touch Screen on Win7 x64.
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
gberg5 gberg5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2009
Default 11-20-2010, 12:14 AM

Just finished this mod and the extra res is great! Was simple with this service manual: Documentation.

Bliss computers was has a 5 dollar code bliss5off, so it was only 55 dollars shipped.

Thanks everybody.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.