My Digital Discount MDD are online retailers of Runcore SSD drives and accessories for your Dell Mini netbook.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
kdel kdel is offline
Junior Member
 
kdel's Avatar
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default Running A05 - 08-22-2009, 04:49 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Richdmoore View Post
No support using the updated A05 BIOS makes this a deal-breaker for me.

I will be interested in the future if these issues with incompatible batteries with the latest BIOS get resolved in the future.
Me too. Just got my hackintosh running smoothly. Don't want to jeopardize that.
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
commo commo is offline
Member
 
Posts: 52
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 08-22-2009, 11:30 AM

whats the benefit of A05, in other words, why would i want to upgrade to 5, what does it fix ( i know it breaks the 3rd party battery)


-= Mini 9 | RunCore 64gb SSD w/win7 | STEC 8gb SSD w/windows 7 w/bitlocker enabled| 2GB Ram | Internal BT =-
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
MikePA MikePA is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 282
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-22-2009, 11:59 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by commo View Post
whats the benefit of A05, in other words, why would i want to upgrade to 5, what does it fix ( i know it breaks the 3rd party battery)
According to the Dell site the following issues are fixed:

1."Press F12 key" highlight but not into boot menu while the POST progress arrives to about 90%.

2."rpcnetp.exe" is running when set Computrace as Disabled on Setup.

3.If set USB Storage as 1st boot device, system with usb device (not bootable) can't boot to HDD.

Hardly worth losing the ability to use non-Dell batteries.
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
teeth_03 teeth_03 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 466
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default 08-22-2009, 06:23 PM

I dont think its a question of Do I not want to upgrade to A05?,but rather,Do I want to risk downgrading back to A04?


Mini Gaming Addict List of Playable Games Current Favorite: Darwinia
*Sold My Mini 9*
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
SmurfLappy SmurfLappy is offline
Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-23-2009, 01:26 AM

Alright, since I got embarrassingly trounced on for posting about this in the DM9 Upgrades forum:

I assume A04 has no problems with DellEFI/Netbook Installer. Are there additional steps needed after downgrading to A04 when running OS X, such as rerunning DellEFI/Netbook Installer for regenerating the dsdt?

Those changes for A05 can't the only changes for A04->A05 are they? Dell's bios upgrade site doesn't ever have info on the useful changes.
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
jetkins jetkins is offline
Senior Member
 
jetkins's Avatar
 
Posts: 183
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Default 08-23-2009, 05:28 AM

Quote:
1."Press F12 key" highlight but not into boot menu while the POST progress arrives to about 90%.

2."rpcnetp.exe" is running when set Computrace as Disabled on Setup.

3.If set USB Storage as 1st boot device, system with usb device (not bootable) can't boot to HDD.
Sounds like Dell is producing their documentation in China now, not just their hardware.


White Mini 9 | 2GB Transcend RAM | 16GB RunCore | 16GB Patriot Class 6 SDHC | Internal BT | 1505 802.11n | BIOS A05 | OS X 10.5.8
Thinking of trying Dropbox? Use this referal link and we'll both get an extra 250MB of storage.
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 08-23-2009, 12:40 PM

There is another change in A05 for Dell batteries in that it allows reporting of time remaining and not just percentage as it provides current draw data. However, this also seems to completely hose operations when using non-Dell batteries. I successfully went back from A05 to A04 and have not had any issues.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
MidTownHD MidTownHD is offline
Member
 
MidTownHD's Avatar
 
Posts: 38
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 08-23-2009, 02:11 PM

how did you downgrade from A05 to A04 under Leopard?
a description would be nice.

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
There is another change in A05 for Dell batteries in that it allows reporting of time remaining and not just percentage as it provides current draw data. However, this also seems to completely hose operations when using non-Dell batteries. I successfully went back from A05 to A04 and have not had any issues.
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
MikePA MikePA is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 282
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-23-2009, 03:21 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
There is another change in A05 for Dell batteries in that it allows reporting of time remaining and not just percentage as it provides current draw data.
I am running A04 on my Mini9 and under OSX it shows time remaining. How's it doing it?
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
SmurfLappy SmurfLappy is offline
Member
 
Posts: 71
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-23-2009, 07:02 PM

Provided by DellEFI/Netbook Installer I believe.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.