Alienware M11X Discussion on the Alienware Gaming Ultra Portable, the M11X.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
kdskamal kdskamal is offline
Junior Member
 
kdskamal's Avatar
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Oct 2009
Send a message via MSN to kdskamal Send a message via Skype™ to kdskamal
Default Alienware M11x Hinge problem? - 06-27-2010, 10:16 AM

I do not own one, but I felt I should let you know about it. Many M11x users have observed that the hinges are separating from the mounts.

Read it here
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_0684.jpg   m11x-vertical.jpg   02062010049.jpg  
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 06-28-2010, 04:08 PM

Thanks for the heads up. However, this sort of thing should be covered under warranty. Since these units just came out late March at earliest, those who experience this should be OK. A part of me wonders just how rough these users are on their laptops, though. I take excellent care of my M11x and she is treating me very well.

Cheers,
Charlie


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 06-28-2010, 04:59 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstaats View Post
Thanks for the heads up. However, this sort of thing should be covered under warranty. Since these units just came out late March at earliest, those who experience this should be OK. A part of me wonders just how rough these users are on their laptops, though. I take excellent care of my M11x and she is treating me very well.

Cheers,
Charlie

X2 on wondering how they're treating them, makes all the difference in the world.
Although if I remember at 11 months, I think I'll cycle the hell out of my hinges to make sure if it happens it's while covered.
Haven't gotten mine yet, got a new i7 one, maybe they even redesigned the hinges with the new CPU's.


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 06-29-2010, 09:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorsteenster View Post
X2 on wondering how they're treating them, makes all the difference in the world.
Although if I remember at 11 months, I think I'll cycle the hell out of my hinges to make sure if it happens it's while covered.
Haven't gotten mine yet, got a new i7 one, maybe they even redesigned the hinges with the new CPU's.
I'm wondering how much faster the i7 will be than the C2D. Mine is plenty quick for me, but it would be nice to see some CPU benchmarks, if you have the opportunity and don't mind doing it.

Thanks!

Cheers,
Charlie


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 06-30-2010, 08:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstaats View Post
I'm wondering how much faster the i7 will be than the C2D. Mine is plenty quick for me, but it would be nice to see some CPU benchmarks, if you have the opportunity and don't mind doing it.

Thanks!

Cheers,
Charlie
I am wondering exactly that myself after looking up the processor number specs yesterday. They may be i series but are still only 2 cores, executing 4 threads with hyper threading.
I'm wondering though if they are socketed CPU's and swappable. Found this on New Egg:
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-720QM Clarksfield 1.6GHz 6MB L3 Cache PGA988 45W Quad-Core Mobile Processor Model BX80607I7720QM
Once my year warranty is up I suspect I may be looking at some upgrades lol.

Although, I feel a little better in that I was afraid this little beast would outperform my Quad Core powered desktop.

Sure thing on the benchmarking, just recommend some software as I've done such.


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 06-30-2010, 09:37 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Thorsteenster View Post
I am wondering exactly that myself after looking up the processor number specs yesterday. They may be i series but are still only 2 cores, executing 4 threads with hyper threading.
I'm wondering though if they are socketed CPU's and swappable. Found this on New Egg:
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-720QM Clarksfield 1.6GHz 6MB L3 Cache PGA988 45W Quad-Core Mobile Processor Model BX80607I7720QM
Once my year warranty is up I suspect I may be looking at some upgrades lol.

Although, I feel a little better in that I was afraid this little beast would outperform my Quad Core powered desktop.

Sure thing on the benchmarking, just recommend some software as I've done such.
Just as an FYI, the Core i7 in the M11x is the Core i7-640UM, not the 720QM. BIG difference. Here is the Intel Ark page for the 640UM: Intel® Core

I'm thinking I'll keep mine till it wears out or there's a game that needs more oomph. Most likely the CPU is soldered on board. For benchmarks I would recommend PCMark and 3DMark.

Cheers,
Charlie


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Thorsteenster Thorsteenster is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 510
Join Date: Oct 2009
Default 07-03-2010, 04:29 PM

So I was looking at the specs of all the mobile i7 processors, the big difference between the 720QM and 640UM is integrated graphics. The biggest processor Intel has with integrated graphics is the 660UM but is only a mild step up and probably not worth the expense.
So, going on that, and if it it's not a soldered CPU, I wonder if adding a processor with out integrated graphics would force the Nvidia 335 do be always active or would it goof on the Optimus feature?
Hmmmm.......


C:\M11xR2\320GBHD\4GBRAM\W7HP
D:\duo\320GBHD\2GBRAM\W8DP
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.