Windows XP The default Windows installation, Discuss tips, tweaks, drivers and more!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Chuckracer Chuckracer is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lowville, NY
Default "ipconfig" unreadable? - 10-15-2011, 07:10 PM

When I type in in"ipconfig", or any other command in the "Start, Run" menu, the screen shows me the results for half a second and it's gone.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-15-2011, 07:29 PM

type "ipconfig /all | more"......the symbol before 'more' is the pipe symbol usually 'shft+\', or just cut & paste what I have here, also you need to open a DOS command prompt window for this in Windows 7:

Start Menu-------->Accessories------------>Command Prompt

when finished type 'exit' to close command prompt window


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 10-15-2011 at 07:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Chuckracer Chuckracer is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lowville, NY
Default 10-15-2011, 07:36 PM

Thanks ...no difference - same thing...still.

Running XP on an older Mini9. Got here because it won't find any wireless IP addy. I'm about at the outside edge of my abilities here, so...be gentle.

And thanks for the help.

Last edited by Chuckracer; 10-15-2011 at 07:55 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-15-2011, 08:10 PM

did you do it from the run prompt or from the command window I told you to open above, if you do not do it from the command window it will not work


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
Chuckracer Chuckracer is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Lowville, NY
Default 10-15-2011, 08:27 PM

You got it - I didn't try it from the command prompt window...just opened it and tried the Start-run deal again.

I've now followed your instructions and it worked - Thanks!

It may be telling me why the wireless won't find an IP address: I'll be back!
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.