Dell Mini 1012 Discussion forum on the new 2010 Dell Mini 1012, featuring an Intel Atom N450 CPU.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#41) Old
tikblang tikblang is offline
Senior Member
 
tikblang's Avatar
 
Posts: 136
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Bezel is very thin. Mount Banahaw Phil
Default 11-16-2010, 01:31 AM

On JM1333KSU-2G - 2GB NOTEBOOK MEMORY - I say "NO" TO this memory.
Somewhere in this forum a guy or gal says "warranty is still OK.

If I were you I will install the memory myself. Open Google, type "CT1201088 = CT25664AC800", click Search then look for en.community.thell.com

Hope this helps.

______________
Look still no "the"
Reply With Quote
  (#42) Old
gspears gspears is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 156
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default 11-17-2010, 05:48 AM

Yes, more memory will make a noticable difference.

And NO that memory will not work. You need DDR2 memory, not DDR3 in a 1012.

Go to Newegg or someone like that and get PC2 5300 or PC2 6400. Either will work.
Reply With Quote
  (#43) Old
mostlyignorant mostlyignorant is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default 11-18-2010, 11:42 AM

Back in July of this year I bought and installing a 2GB G.Skill memory module (part no. F2-6400CL5S-2GBSQ) inside my brand new Dell Mini 10 (1012). I did so after receiving an email back from G.Skill support confirming that this particular module is compatible with the Dell Mini 10 (1012). So far everything is working fine. I bought the memory module from MSY (an Australian computer parts retailer), however it looks like there are plenty of other Australian retailers out there selling it.

Just in case it is useful for others, my reseach prior to purchasing the memory module turned up the following:

1. Patriot confirmed back to me via email that their Signature PSD22G8002S (which is a 2GB PC2-6400 800MHz module) is also compatible.

2. Corsair advised me via their online forum that their Value Select VS2GSDS667D2 (which is a 2GB PC2-5300 667MHz module) is also compatible. They weren't forthcoming about if any of their 800MHz modules were compatible.

3. Hynix confirmed back to me via email that their HYMP125S64CP8-S6 (which is a 2GB PC2-5300 667MHz module) is also compatible. Hynix also weren't forthcoming about if any of their 800MHz modules were compatible.

4. Surprisingly, Kingston sent an email back to me advising that they don't have any compatible memory modules. Normally I would just buy Kingston (only because I have previously had outstanding service from them when I once bought a dodgy module) and I would have thought that they would have had a suitable product.

5. The Crucial website lists two compatible 2GB modules. One being CT1201090 (a PC2-5300 667MHz module) and the other being CT1201088 (a PC2-6400 800MHz module). The really confusing thing about the product numbers that are provided on the Crucial website is that they don't actually relate in any way to the product numbers of their retail version equivalents. However, Crucial have confirmed back to me via their online forum that the CT1201090 that they refer to on their website is currently identical to the CT25664AC667 that is sold in retail shops; and similarly the CT1201088 is currently identical to the CT25664AC800.

6. The RAM selector on the OCZ website indicates that OCZ don't have a compatible module.

7. The original memory module that was provided by Dell (i.e. the original 1GB module that I removed) was a Samsung product. It had the following identifiers printed on its label "1GB 2Rx16 PC2-6400S-666-12-A3", "M470T2864QZ3-CF7" and "1013". Although one of the identifiers included the number "666", this was definitely a 800MHz module (i.e. NOT a 667MHz module). I presume the "666" in the identifier was refering to the CL, however I'm only guessing.

Swapping the memory modules over was a piece of cake and took less then 10 minutes. There are plenty of guides (including videos) in lots of computer forums and on places like YouTube.

All of the above information is 5 months old so there is a chance that some of it may be out of date.

Hope this is helpful to others looking to upgrade their RAM.

I don't really do anything particularly taxing with this computer and I didn't do any benchmarking before upgrading the memory so I can't comment on what sort of performance improvement there has been.

However, intuitively upgrading from 1GB to 2GB of RAM should deliver a noticably significant improvement, especially for resource hungry applications and multitasking.
Reply With Quote
  (#44) Old
Webology Webology is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: May 2010
Default 12-23-2010, 01:58 AM

I just ordered 2 of those chips from Amazon with same day delivery for 3.99 for my netbooks and my husbands netbook.
Reply With Quote
  (#45) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 12-23-2010, 03:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by mostlyignorant View Post
However, intuitively upgrading from 1GB to 2GB of RAM should deliver a noticably significant improvement, especially for resource hungry applications and multitasking.
just dont expect it to be like light & day because it wont be, apps like photoshop still aint gonna run that good...doesnt matter if you got 4gb (which you cant of course) it still remains an Atom Processor with no graphics card



Happy Holidays.....


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#46) Old
RichTJ99 RichTJ99 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 72
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default 01-21-2011, 08:24 PM

Reply With Quote
  (#47) Old
Anamandy Anamandy is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 13
Join Date: Apr 2011
Default 04-20-2011, 09:56 AM

I just upgraded my 1012 to 2GB yesterday from memory purchased through crucial. At the same time I upgraded my old Inspiron 1200 laptop to 1GB. To be honest I see little benefit to the 1012 upgrade though my old 1200 workhorse is zipping along. If I had to do it all over I wouldn't have wasted the 33 bucks to upgrade the mini.

---------- Post added at 05:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:53 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Webology View Post
I just ordered 2 of those chips from Amazon with same day delivery for 3.99 for my netbooks and my husbands netbook.
You could have gotten free shipping and no tax through crucial.

---------- Post added at 05:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:54 AM ----------

Just wanted to add that in addition to upgrading the memory I also increased the virtual memory on both machines. Read somewhere on the internet that you should do this to increase performance.
Reply With Quote
  (#48) Old
Smitty79 Smitty79 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Default 04-20-2011, 03:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anamandy View Post
I just upgraded my 1012 to 2GB yesterday from memory purchased through crucial. At the same time I upgraded my old Inspiron 1200 laptop to 1GB. To be honest I see little benefit to the 1012 upgrade though my old 1200 workhorse is zipping along. If I had to do it all over I wouldn't have wasted the 33 bucks to upgrade the mini.

---------- Post added at 05:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:53 AM ----------



You could have gotten free shipping and no tax through crucial.

---------- Post added at 05:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 05:54 AM ----------

Just wanted to add that in addition to upgrading the memory I also increased the virtual memory on both machines. Read somewhere on the internet that you should do this to increase performance.
I paid no shipping or tax on my Crucial memory from Amazon. $29.99US delivered to my door. It's increased a couple bucks since though. I'm guessing they upgraded their shipping option.



Reply With Quote
  (#49) Old
randy_hunt960 randy_hunt960 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jan 2011
Default 04-20-2011, 04:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
just dont expect it to be like light & day because it wont be, apps like photoshop still aint gonna run that good...doesnt matter if you got 4gb (which you cant of course) it still remains an Atom Processor with no graphics card



Happy Holidays.....
The interesting thing about this is: A few days ago I was setting up a 1012 for a friend and decided to run the experience test on my 1012 and on my 1525. The 1012 actually scored as well as or better on all tests than the 1525 except for CPU. File xfer was on par. Graphics on par or BETTER. CPU was 1.2 less than the 1525. Now if someone could figure out how to upgrade to the 550 atom (with BIOS and cooling upgrades) it would be a fabulous little computer. I think it is anyway considering what it is. . .

Randy
Reply With Quote
  (#50) Old
kuoh kuoh is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 122
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 04-20-2011, 08:47 PM

Virtual memory does nothing to increase overall performance, it just lets you open more applications simultaneously. If anything, it decreases performance because of all the paging activity. Users looking for maximum performance, and SSD longevity, usually turn it off completely.

KuoH

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anamandy View Post
Just wanted to add that in addition to upgrading the memory I also increased the virtual memory on both machines. Read somewhere on the internet that you should do this to increase performance.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.