General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
isaacl isaacl is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default New Mini 10v, NBI 0.83, OSX 10.5 Leopard, "You need to restart your computer" - 01-29-2010, 06:14 AM

The title pretty much sums things up
But here's what's happening:
I just got my new Mini 10v today.
I bought it in order to be able to install OS X Leopard - 10.5 (I need that to run a particular software), and I have a 10.5 retail DVD.
I didn't do anything with the BIOS, so I believe it still has the A06 version, but it seemed like that was fine.
I followed the instructions in the second guide on mechdrew's site, using the first method for Windows - using the ImageWriter software (assuming I am remembering correctly - not by my computer now), and the version of NBI linked from there - 0.83.
I got the bootloader screen, and selected the OSX Install DVDm but right after the Apple logo appears, I get a screen that says that I need to restart the computer. I tried it twice, and both times got the same thing.
Any ideas?
Thanks a lot!!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
cyBORG179 cyBORG179 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 01-29-2010, 02:31 PM

i get the same exact error message but with a mini9 - i'm running 10.5.8 and trying to update to 10.6

i would also appreciate any tips on how to fix this!
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
jxanthony jxanthony is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 17
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 01-29-2010, 05:30 PM

@isaacl: its the A06 BIOS. Downgrade and it'll work fine.


Mini 9 - 32GB RunCore SSD - 2GB Kingston HyperX - 1.3 webcam - Mac OS X 10.6.2 - NBI .8.3 RC4 - Bluetooth [On] / USB Legacy [Off]
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
isaacl isaacl is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-29-2010, 05:56 PM

I found this - gonna try that:
http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/dell...g-windows.html
Hope it works...
Thanks!

---------- Post added at 12:56 PM ---------- Previous post was at 12:35 PM ----------

I downgraded to the A05 BIOS, and I got the same thing again
I tried booting it with -v, and it says something about Intel Power Management at the end...
Any other ideas?
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
chrispi79 chrispi79 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 162
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default Wrong way!!! - 01-29-2010, 06:10 PM

you DONT have to downgrade the BIOS since NBI 0.8.3 is released.

Thats only for previous versions of NBI.

The mistake must be another.

Have you make your bios settings before install?

Do you have run the netbookmaker on the usb drive.

read carefully the guides on osx.mechdrew.com and i suggest you, it works with a06.

Good luck


mini10v | 10.6.3 | 2GB RAM | 64GB SSDNOW V-Series | NBI 0.8.4RC1 | A06 | BT:no | WAKEn LEGACYff
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
isaacl isaacl is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-29-2010, 06:19 PM

I followed the guide...
Still having issues.
I'm going to try using the alternate method...
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
chrispi79 chrispi79 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 162
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 01-29-2010, 06:27 PM

on wich windows you have used the image writer?

on vista its better to open the prog as admin.


mini10v | 10.6.3 | 2GB RAM | 64GB SSDNOW V-Series | NBI 0.8.4RC1 | A06 | BT:no | WAKEn LEGACYff
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
isaacl isaacl is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-29-2010, 06:39 PM

I was running it from Windows XP.
I'm going to try switching the flash drives - maybe that will work better.
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
chrispi79 chrispi79 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 162
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 01-29-2010, 06:58 PM

and you have upgrade / full install Disc of snow leopard, not the grey one?
and you ve disabled wake usb,

and you ve copied over 7gb to your usb, not 1gb or so?

not sure where is your mistake, but must something with the nbm, or bios


mini10v | 10.6.3 | 2GB RAM | 64GB SSDNOW V-Series | NBI 0.8.4RC1 | A06 | BT:no | WAKEn LEGACYff
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
isaacl isaacl is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 23
Join Date: Jan 2010
Default 01-29-2010, 07:01 PM

I'm trying to install Leopard (10.5), not Snow Leopard (10.6).
But yes, I do have a retail DVD.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.