Dell Mini 1010 Forum for all discussion and support on the first revision of the Dell Mini 10, the Dell Inspiron Mini 1010.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
cct1 cct1 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default 07-11-2012, 04:56 PM

There are 138 of these on Ebay right now...Dell must have dumped some inventory onto the market.
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
thiagolima thiagolima is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jun 2012
Default Cheap, up and running! - 07-18-2012, 02:19 AM

Hello guys, I┤m new here at the forum and this is my first post. I bought this upgrade on eBay for US$19,95 and it is working perfectly!!!
ebay.com/itm/350565976540?ssPageName=STRK:MEWNX:IT&_trksid=p398 4.m1497.l2649]Dell Inspiron Mini 10 1010 SLGFQ 1.33GHz CPU board 2GB DDR2 Memory LS-4766 R401N | eBay

The vendor is reliable and fast. It was shipped here to Brazil very quickly!

Now I┤m finishing the instalation. I followed this post over here wich have lots of details on how can you install this board since the format is a little different than the original one!
mydellmini.com/forum/dell-mini-1010/14795-ram-upgrade-4.html

The official Intel specs regarding this processor shows that this have one core only, but in Task Manager it is shown two cores. Is it Dualcore, HT or something like that?
ark.intel.com/products/35466]Intel&#174


Well, I hope you guys have a very good time with this upgrade as I┤m having so far! Please feel comfortable to ask me about the instalation and anything else. I hope I can be useful!


See ya!
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 07-18-2012, 02:25 PM

the Mini 10's usually came with the 1.6ghz processor, the daughterboard you bought is a 1.33ghz processor, why would you want to downgrade the processor to upgrade the RAM?, you should have bought the daughterboard with the z530 (1.6ghz) and 2gb RAM NOT the daugherboard with the z520 (1.33ghz) and 2gb RAM, I dont think your machine will be any faster might even be worse/slower than before


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
Qman Qman is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 07-18-2012, 03:30 PM

I'm confused, so they made two different 2gb RAM daughterboards, my 1010 under OS X 10 says it has a processor is a 1.33 GHz?

Last edited by Qman; 07-18-2012 at 03:40 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 07-18-2012, 03:55 PM

yes they made the z520 (1.33ghz) and the z530 (1.6ghz), both were available, the z530 was the optional faster processor, read my sig below, I bought mine totally maxed out from day one, I just upgraded it to 2gb and put in the 750gb drive, I am soon going to be installing a terabyte (1000gb) drive in it too then I think I will be done


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 07-18-2012, 05:44 PM

As for the "dual core" - these processors have Intel HyperThreading, where the processor uses "extra" functional units to process two threads of execution at once. It isn't as good as two cores, but can speed up some work by up to 25%. To the OS it looks like two cores, but really isn't.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
charliemc charliemc is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default 07-29-2012, 06:59 PM

I installed mine today with help from this forum. It is unfortunate that the form factor is not identical to the 1GB board. I used a dremel to enlarge one of the holes (with lots of tape and static protection to reduce the dust). A vice-clamp was used to straighten the right-hand side of the shield to permit it to be retained. I also used a little non-conductive foam to maintain separation of the board from the mounting point that is no longer usable and also from the shield at the same spot. It has booted and run for a few hours with no problems. Speed is good. I don't know how to determine if temperature is a factor. Hopefully it won't be since the shield was retained.

Thanks to the others who have contributed here. I would not have tried the hack without the efforts of the predecessors. (true hack if you're modifying a circuit board... I think) Performance is definitely improved. If it keeps functioning then I'll look into a SSD conversion to further boost speed and use an external drive for storage
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Cool 07-30-2012, 01:24 AM

I only used the 3 screws that fit, there is NO reason to go through all that trouble to hold in a board, are you throwing it against a wall?...NO.....then 3 screws is sufficient to hold in a tiny little board, mine has been in for almost 2yrs and I aint had a problem yet....as far as an SSD goes, I dont need the speed that badly, mine boots quickly now and I personally would rather have a terabyte of storage than an SSD that might boot 4 or 5 seconds quicker, there is nothing I need to do on my machine that quickly that I cant wait an extra couple of seconds...and the response time is NOT gonna be like night and day anyway....but Good Luck to ya though


PS. Welcome to the Forum.....
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
charliemc charliemc is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Jul 2012
Default 07-30-2012, 04:49 AM

Thanks for the welcome.

Perhaps I didn't describe it well enough. I used 3 screws. The two near the connector are easy, but the one near the "L" key required clearancing of the hole in order to fit the screw. The one under the "<enter>" key was a throw-away but I didn't want contact between the board and either the screw mounting point or the shield ...thus the small bits of foam.

The reason I'm considering the SSD is boot time. I put a hybrid drive in my old macbook and it completely changed the thing. It boots in about 12 seconds on Snow Leopard ...so much faster than the old drive that it is worth keeping the device. Either a hybrid 7200 or a SSD I hope will do the same for the Mini 1010.
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
cct1 cct1 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 59
Join Date: Jul 2010
Default 08-04-2012, 02:04 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by charliemc View Post
Thanks for the welcome.

Perhaps I didn't describe it well enough. I used 3 screws. The two near the connector are easy, but the one near the "L" key required clearancing of the hole in order to fit the screw. The one under the "<enter>" key was a throw-away but I didn't want contact between the board and either the screw mounting point or the shield ...thus the small bits of foam.

The reason I'm considering the SSD is boot time. I put a hybrid drive in my old macbook and it completely changed the thing. It boots in about 12 seconds on Snow Leopard ...so much faster than the old drive that it is worth keeping the device. Either a hybrid 7200 or a SSD I hope will do the same for the Mini 1010.
I tried an Intel SSD in my 1010 and it cut battery life way down...I was surprised but battery life is one of my main needs from it so I went back.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.