Mac OS X Development Development and discussion on the latest hackintosh drivers and methods.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#101) Old
BIGGS BIGGS is offline
Member
 
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Brunei Darussalam
Default 02-28-2010, 08:31 AM

If you check Software Update after you do this, you may see an update named "AirPort Client Update 2009-02". I'm going to try and update and see what happens.

---------- Post added at 08:31 AM ---------- Previous post was at 08:02 AM ----------

It's fine.
Reply With Quote
  (#102) Old
ronin510 ronin510 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 64
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 03-06-2010, 11:37 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jbloggs View Post
Can anyone provide the ID for the BCM4312 (b/g wireless on the 10v)?
From the guide:
Quote:
Suppose if you use a Broadcom a/b/g Wifi card , then the subp id is 0├Ś004e , you’ll just have to change that.
So the new command would be:
Code:
ssb-sprom -i ssb_sprom_copy --subv 0x106b --subp 0x004e -o new_ssb_sprom_copy
That will change your card to read as "Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x4E)" in System Profiler.

Using other IDs will work, but the official Apple b/g cards are listed as (0x14E4, 0x4E). As a side note, I've successfully done this with my Lenovo S10 that is also using the BCM4312.
Reply With Quote
  (#103) Old
tutorial tutorial is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 29
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 03-10-2010, 07:45 PM

question

flashing my wifi on dell mini 9 result

Quote:
en1:
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x87)
Firmware Version: Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.91.19)
Locale: Unknown
Country Code: DE
Supported PHY Modes: 802.11 b/g
Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13
Wake On Wireless: Supported
Status: Connected
and this on my dell mini 10V

Quote:
en1:
Card Type: AirPort Extreme (0x14E4, 0x87)
Firmware Version: Broadcom BCM43xx 1.0 (5.10.91.26)
Locale: FCC
Country Code: US
Supported PHY Modes: 802.11 b/g
Supported Channels: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11
Wake On Wireless: Supported
Status: Not Associated
Local Wireless Networks:
flashing (booth dell mini 9 & 10V) same as on prasys site, but different result?

for information del mini 9 & 10v using wifi standar from dell

should I change the ID ? or any suggestion ?


Mini 10v | 2GB [Transcend JM800QSU-2G] | 250GB | AirPort Extreme | BT | A06 |
Snow 10.6.2 | Ubuntu 9.10 | Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  (#104) Old
minimalpc minimalpc is offline
Expert Member
 
Posts: 560
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 03-11-2010, 01:19 AM

Depends. The first is set to a Germany country code and, thus, enables you to choose to use channels 12 and 13, which are illegal to use in the U.S. The latter is set to U.S. country code. The flashing method does not change the country code, so those were set that way before you even undertook the process.


Dell Mini 10v | Mac OS X 10.6.2 | Windows 7 Professional | Ubuntu Netbook Remix 9.10 | 1GB RAM | 160GB HDD | BIOS A05 | USB Legacy: OFF | USB Wake: OFF | BT: Enabled (self-installed BCM2046) | NBI 0.8.3 final
Reply With Quote
  (#105) Old
tutorial tutorial is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 29
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 03-11-2010, 04:01 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by minimalpc View Post
Depends. The first is set to a Germany country code and, thus, enables you to choose to use channels 12 and 13, which are illegal to use in the U.S. The latter is set to U.S. country code. The flashing method does not change the country code, so those were set that way before you even undertook the process.
How to change the country code ?

thanks


Mini 10v | 2GB [Transcend JM800QSU-2G] | 250GB | AirPort Extreme | BT | A06 |
Snow 10.6.2 | Ubuntu 9.10 | Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  (#106) Old
thejames thejames is offline
Member
 
Posts: 61
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default 03-11-2010, 11:10 PM

Hi, having never used Terminal before, I'm a little nervous of messing it up and rendering my hackintosh wireless-less! If the worst happens, is there a Restore to Factory Settings button to undo my errors?! Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  (#107) Old
musicopath musicopath is offline
Member
 
Posts: 34
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 03-12-2010, 07:54 PM

followed the procedure. and now i have an Airport Extreme thks
Reply With Quote
  (#108) Old
gamera gamera is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 25
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 03-13-2010, 10:23 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tutorial View Post
How to change the country code ?

thanks
Knowing almost nothing about Linux, and at the risk of bricking my Mini, I took a guess and it worked:

ssb-sprom -i ssb_sprom_copy --subv 0x106b --subp 0x004e --ccode US -o new_ssb_sprom_copy

I saw that the other fields were prefixed by "--" and guessed that maybe the "-i" and "-o" mean "in" and "out" (do they?), and tried it. It worked. I used my mini today. It shows up as Airport Extreme and definitely seems to find a lot more networks.

However, I think I might change my code back to the original (Japan) because they apparently accept a wider range here (at least, according to the link given earlier in the thread).
Reply With Quote
  (#109) Old
ppafford ppafford is offline
Senior Member
 
ppafford's Avatar
 
Posts: 248
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Michigan
Default 03-13-2010, 05:07 PM

I would like to upgrade to the 1510 wireless card for my mini 10v, but on the dell site there are several and I see non for the 10v.

Could someone help with links to ebay/dell/etc.. as to where I can buy the correct one for my hackintosh


Mini 10v | N270 | OSX 10.6.2 | NBI 0.8.3 | 2GB RAM | 160GB | BIOS A05|
Mini 10v | N280 | OSX 10.6.2 | NBI 0.8.3 | 1GB RAM | 160GB | BIOS A05|
Dell Mini 10v OSX FAQ
twitter

Reply With Quote
  (#110) Old
DellMiniOSXUser DellMiniOSXUser is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: May 2009
Default Worldwide Country Code - 03-15-2010, 03:56 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamera View Post
Knowing almost nothing about Linux, and at the risk of bricking my Mini, I took a guess and it worked:

ssb-sprom -i ssb_sprom_copy --subv 0x106b --subp 0x004e --ccode US -o new_ssb_sprom_copy

I saw that the other fields were prefixed by "--" and guessed that maybe the "-i" and "-o" mean "in" and "out" (do they?), and tried it. It worked. I used my mini today. It shows up as Airport Extreme and definitely seems to find a lot more networks.

However, I think I might change my code back to the original (Japan) because they apparently accept a wider range here (at least, according to the link given earlier in the thread).
You may want to set the country code to X3. This is the worldwide (ETSI) mode. OS X then sets the operational country according to the country settings in OS X everytime you boot your mini or change the settings. You may also activate "set timezone automatically" in the date/time system settings.

The X3 settings works for both 4312 (b/g only) based cards as well as for 4321 (a/b/g/n) cards and probably for others as well.

So for a 4312 (e.g. Dell 1397) it would be:
Code:
ssb-sprom -i ssb_sprom_copy --subv 0x106b --subp 0x004e --ccode X3 -o  new_ssb_sprom_copy
And for a 4321 (e.g. Dell 1505):
Code:
ssb-sprom -i ssb_sprom_copy --subv 0x106b --subp 0x0088 --ccode X3 -o  new_ssb_sprom_copy


---
Dell Mini 9, 2GB RAM, 64GB Runcore SSD, 0.3 MP camera, BT, Dell 1505 802.11n card, Dell 5530 3G card, 3M Vikuiti ARMP200 Anti-Reflection-Film, OS X 10.6.4
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.