Dell Mini 9 Hardware Issues / Problems Inform everyone on any issues or problems with your Dell Mini 9 hardware.

(#1) Old

Default Help! Dead Mini 9 - Power Supply/Battery?? - 12-28-2011, 05:47 AM

I'm sorry if this has been posted before but i've been searching all night for a post that replicates my problem to no avail. I have a Mini 9 that I take EVERYWHERE - i'm an artist and basically it's become my sketchbook/journal/comic reader/etc. It was my father in laws up until he got cancer and he gave it to me a couple years back. It runs winXP.

Anyway, it was working fine until yesterday night. The battery died while i was using it on the train. I plugged it in at my wifes house but the white AC light only flickered and it wouldnt turn on. I tried a couple outlets with the same results. I was starting to freak out so I left it for a while just plugged in and hoped for the best. Later that night it hadn't charged but I was able to start it and run it on 1% battery for about 15 minutes before it died. I had it plugged in while it was on but still it wouldnt charge and i noticed that the screen (which dims when its on ac power) was flickering irregularly in time with the ac light. I tried to run it without the battery plugged in but the white light doesnt even flicker when there is no battery- i get no response at all! so is it my power supply? or battery? or both? Im broke so i really cant just throw money at the problem but i gotta have my mini

oh, another thing- ive looked online and all the replacement ac power cords look like the one from my old inspiron. its weird tho, the one i was given with this computer looks more like a big cellphone power supply and doesnt say dell on it. Ive been using it for a couple years tho and had no problems. Are the older inspiraon power supplys cross-compatible? (i may still have a spare somewhere)

Anyway, thanks ahead of time for any help, i really appreciate it
  (#2) Old
Administrator

Default 12-28-2011, 02:43 PM