Dell Mini 1018 Forum for discussion on the refreshed Dell Mini 1018, released Q3 2010.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
Arri Arri is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default 10-16-2010, 02:52 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
The 1018 is not the 1012.
Exactly, earlier in this post is was mentioned that they were the same, but they are not. So as Dell has not yet put any manuals up for the 1018, can anyone tell us how to change the memory in it.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-16-2010, 03:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arri View Post
So as Dell has not yet put any manuals up for the 1018, can anyone tell us how to change the memory in it.

Thanks
I changed my earlier post to ALMOST the same......sorry

to make up for it....I found the manual for the 1018.....

link:
http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...n/sm/index.htm

and more specifically the memory upgrade:
link:
http://support.dell.com/support/edoc....htm#wp1180190

that should make up for my error.......Good Luck


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 10-16-2010, 11:20 PM

Looks like the manual is not all there yet - images are missing.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-16-2010, 11:26 PM

it seems the replacing part is missing the pics, the removing part seems to be intact, just reverse the process.....shouldnt be that difficult....I didnt write it...but I did check the first few and they had pics so I posted it.......NOBODY is perfect


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
Arri Arri is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default 10-17-2010, 11:55 AM

Great. Thanks for that, just what we needed.

Now where's my screwdriver......

---------- Post added at 12:55 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:47 AM ----------

Success!

Getting the palm rest off was a bit worrying but it was all fairly easy.

New memory working fine.

I used the Crucial CT1532829.


Thanks for your help.
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 10-17-2010, 02:29 PM

glad the manual helped and you got it working..hope you either bookmarked it or downloaded it


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
Montala Montala is offline
Super Moderator
 
Montala's Avatar
 
Posts: 871
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Herefordshire (U.K.)
Default 10-18-2010, 04:21 PM

Funnily enough the first link in post #12 leads to a page from which none of the links work at all, but if you follow the second link, and then go back to the Index, you end up at this page: Documentation which seems to be a lot more helpful!


Mini 10v - Product (RED) - BIOS A06 - Ubuntu 11.04 - 2GB RAM - 60 GB OCZ Vertex SSD - Bluetooth - Intel 6205 Wi-Fi - WWAN
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
jrinco11 jrinco11 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default 10-30-2010, 07:02 PM

for anyone interested, there's a full video/picture guide to dismantling and upgrading the 1018 here: How to upgrade & dismantle the Dell Mini 10v 1018 | jRin.net (upgrading the memory is like with the 1012 except that you have to also remove the whole palm rest - for whatever reason, the memory access door under the keyboard is no longer separate from the palm rest....!?)
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
yerayenrique yerayenrique is offline
Member
 
Posts: 35
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default 11-11-2010, 11:18 PM

Hi guys,

same problem as TheBrad here. Already returned first bought RAM module and tried a different one. Problem remains.

Any clues?

Thanks!

Quote:
Originally Posted by TheBrad View Post
Hello folks,

i also wanted to upgrade the memory of my 1018 to 2GB, but unfortunately it don't works. I ordered the following kingston memory module:

Kingston KVR1333D3S9/2G PC1333 2GB Arbeitsspeicher (DDR3) Retail

Kingston KVR1333D3S9/2G PC1333 2GB Arbeitsspeicher: Amazon.de: Computer & Zubeh├Âr

Placing it into my mini and booting the device, the power LED lights, but the screen remains black. No bios error codes or something like that. Replacing it with the original 1GB memory, the mini works fine.

Here is a picture of the two memory modules (top=2BG Kingston, bottom=1GB original DELL memory)

P1010122

Did i make a mistake by choosing this memory module?

Thanks in advance for your help!

TheBrad
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
Mr_Pat Mr_Pat is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Nov 2010
Default 11-18-2010, 10:03 PM

I have the exact same issue.... my 1018 came with 1 gig of ram I bought this memory Newegg.com - A-DATA 2GB 204-Pin DDR3 SO-DIMM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Laptop Memory Model AD3S1333B2G9-R and I put it in and computer wont boot. I just get a black screen and the power light on the front comes on.

I then put the origional back in and it worked.


Can anyone help?
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.