Dell Inspiron 11z Discussion on Dells 11.6inch "notebook", the Dell Inspiron 11z

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Cool Benchmarks - 09-28-2009, 10:01 PM

Hey all,

I didn't see any threads for the 11z related to benchmarks or performance info (besides the Windows 7 WEI numbers in the pictures sticky) but I'll be getting mine tomorrow and I have been known to test notebooks to their limit. (I had Mac running on my Wind U100 with XP running in Parallels - and Dungeons and Dragons Online running in Windows.)

Once I get mine I'll be posting some scores and feelings in the performance arena. Plus I'm excited to see how some of my games run on here; I've used a 4500MHD before, and if this is the 533MHz clocked model, I expect good things.


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
bsanborn bsanborn is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 106
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 09-29-2009, 02:20 PM

The 4500 chipset is the best thing about this netbook. Especially when u are using Windows 7 or Vista. Why does your's have a 533Mhz FSB? Mine has 800Mhz FSB which was one of the reasons I bought it. Seems like 533 would be a little slow. Maybe you're mistaken (or I could be mistaken)?

Only benchmark I have ran so far on mine is SuperPI. Did 1MB superPI in 44 seconds. If you do more let me know the results, I would be very interested.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 09-29-2009, 03:51 PM

Doh! I didn't tell you I was talking about the 4500MHD clock speed. Apparently the GS45 can be clocked at either 320MHz or 533MHz. I'm hoping the latter is true. I still got the Celeron 723 1.2/800 CPU.


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
bsanborn bsanborn is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 106
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 09-29-2009, 07:12 PM

Ahh, yes. That makes a big difference.

According to GPU-z, mine has a gm45 graphics chip @ 65nm process. The chipset is a gs45, but the graphics is a gm45. Anyways, it says default clock is 475mhz, current clock is 475mhz.

Must be something new because I'm not seeing anything on intels site about a 475mhz. I saw the 533/320 specs for the gs45 high performance setup (which I doubt is what we have). The gs45 low-power setup had a render clock of 320 and a display clock of 228. Still don't know why or where my 11z got 475 from. Hope this helps, I'll still keep searching myself. You got me interested now.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 09-29-2009, 07:53 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsanborn View Post
Ahh, yes. That makes a big difference.

According to GPU-z, mine has a gm45 graphics chip @ 65nm process. The chipset is a gs45, but the graphics is a gm45. Anyways, it says default clock is 475mhz, current clock is 475mhz.

Must be something new because I'm not seeing anything on intels site about a 475mhz. I saw the 533/320 specs for the gs45 high performance setup (which I doubt is what we have). The gs45 low-power setup had a render clock of 320 and a display clock of 228. Still don't know why or where my 11z got 475 from. Hope this helps, I'll still keep searching myself. You got me interested now.
Yeah I just got mine and noticed that too. The 475 is a Dell custom thing, as OEMs are able to make those sorts of custom changes on most laptop/notebook chipsets. If you notice, there is a wide range of GPU core.memory clocks in the discrete realm too. I'm guessing Dell just figured 475 was best. What I'm hoping for is that the GMABooster guy gets a 4500 version up and running so we can unlock it to the full 533. My MSI Wind GMA950 is running stock as something like 133MHz, but with the GMABooster tool (Welcome!) it runs at 400MHz. Either way I haven't installed any games on it yet being that I'm still at work. I did notice in Vista Home Premium that my CPU is getting a 3.1 score, and the pictures thread had one owner listed as 2.9.

So far I was impressed at the notebook's ability to handle Aero, although I would agree that running Vista is like putting Bigfoot on a pack mule.

I'll run some tests later and try to post later tonight.

Cheers,
Charlie


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
bsanborn bsanborn is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 106
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 09-29-2009, 08:06 PM

Nice, yea, I think the 2.9 was in windows 7 since the scaling is higher but I maybe mistaken. Mine only hits 2.8 on Windows 7 score. I would also like to unlock mine. It would only help with Aero and such. But as you stated, I've been very impressed with how it handles Aero with stock speeds. Only games I'm even going to try to play on this are Starcraft and some smaller steam games. I have my Desktop for real games.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 09-29-2009, 09:00 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by bsanborn View Post
Nice, yea, I think the 2.9 was in windows 7 since the scaling is higher but I maybe mistaken. Mine only hits 2.8 on Windows 7 score. I would also like to unlock mine. It would only help with Aero and such. But as you stated, I've been very impressed with how it handles Aero with stock speeds. Only games I'm even going to try to play on this are Starcraft and some smaller steam games. I have my Desktop for real games.
Yeah, I have a pretty sweet desktop too, but if I bought a brand new car, even if it wasn't supposed to go fast, I'd still want to see how fast it would go.

You did read my post here right? I had Mac on my Wind running XP in a VM then DDO running on top of XP. That's absolutely crazy, but it worked.

There's just something about testing the limits of what a new piece of hardware can do...

Cheers,
Charlie


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 09-30-2009, 05:54 PM

Alrighty, preliminary tests with WoW on Windows 7 Ultimate x64 are pretty good. In BC area (higher rex testures than classic WoW) my DK was riding his horse to the tune of 25-29 fps, all settings on low. That's pretty dang impressive - I was running at 1366x768. I didn't try cranking it down yet. I'm downloading Lord of the Rings Online: Mines of Moria at home as we speak, so once I get the chance to sit down and install & update it, we'll see how well that goes. I would so love to be able to take LOTRO with me, even if its low res. After I'll download Counter-Strike: Source and see how that plays, and then maybe you guys can make some requests, and I'll test 'em out.

Also, do I need to move game benchmark posts to the gaming forum? The reason I haven't so far is because there is no GMA x4500M sub-forum.

Cheers,
Charlie


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Athena Athena is offline
Senior Member
 
Athena's Avatar
 
Posts: 315
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 10-01-2009, 03:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by cstaats View Post
Alrighty, preliminary tests with WoW on Windows 7 Ultimate x64 are pretty good. In BC area (higher rex testures than classic WoW) my DK was riding his horse to the tune of 25-29 fps, all settings on low. That's pretty dang impressive - I was running at 1366x768. I didn't try cranking it down yet. I'm downloading Lord of the Rings Online: Mines of Moria at home as we speak, so once I get the chance to sit down and install & update it, we'll see how well that goes. I would so love to be able to take LOTRO with me, even if its low res. After I'll download Counter-Strike: Source and see how that plays, and then maybe you guys can make some requests, and I'll test 'em out.

Also, do I need to move game benchmark posts to the gaming forum? The reason I haven't so far is because there is no GMA x4500M sub-forum.

Cheers,
Charlie
Shaiya also plays pretty well! Unfortunately, I have to boot into Vista bc of the current gameguard problem plaguing Win 7 users. Very impressed though. Didn't think I'd be able to play =)

Now if only it could handle TF2...


Toshiba Satellite M645-S40408 | Fusion Finish | 500 gb | 6gb | Core i5-460M | NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M | Win 7
HP Mini 311 | Black | 500 gb | 2gb | Atom 270 | NVIDIA ION | Win 7
Dell Mini 1010 | Obsidian Black | 160gb | 1gb | Atom z520 | Win XP
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
cstaats cstaats is offline
Senior Member
 
cstaats's Avatar
 
Posts: 235
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Nixa, MO
Default 10-01-2009, 06:03 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Athena View Post
Shaiya also plays pretty well! Unfortunately, I have to boot into Vista bc of the current gameguard problem plaguing Win 7 users. Very impressed though. Didn't think I'd be able to play =)

Now if only it could handle TF2...
Hmm, don't want to dash any hopes, but I've heard that of all the Source Engine games, TF2 is the most graphically intensive. It's funny that HL2 runs better on lower hardware that CS:S. I am curious though. I have yet to try CS:S. Still need to get LoTRO going.

Cheers,
Charlie


True mercy is never earned.

Desktop: Phenom II X4 960T 3.0GHz (unlocked to X6)|8GB 1600 DDR3|500GB|Radeon HD 6750|Windows 7 Ultimate x64
Notebook: Inspiron 1121|Core i3-330UM|8GB 800 DDR3|320GB|Intel HD Graphics|Windows 7 Pro x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
11z inspiron benchmark

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.