Gaming Discussion on netbook gaming.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#21) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Default 06-10-2009, 04:10 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by unreasonable View Post
what combination of codecs are you using?...
...btw, thanks for your research
No prob/em.
I'm using GOM Media Player - Free software downloads and reviews - CNET Download.com , built-in codecs.
yeah, i most likely will end up not uninstalling the new driver, seems to be working well.


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100
Reply With Quote
  (#22) Old
unreasonable unreasonable is offline
Member
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-10-2009, 04:44 PM

Thank you ptdmini12. It runs great, but it says that it cannot switch to overlay or somthing (video plays though), does it happen to you as well?

GTA2 works perfectly in direct 3d mode, 1024*768, fullscreen (btw GTA1, GTA2 and Wild Metal are available for free as full versions Rockstar Classics - Free Downloads I checked only GTA2 as I dont need the others)

P.S. I always prefered GTA1/London/2 to the new versions (3, vice city, san andreas). Dont know why, maybe Im the oldschool boy

Last edited by unreasonable; 06-10-2009 at 06:44 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#23) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Default 06-12-2009, 03:42 AM

so...
first of all, unreasonable,
hmmmmmm..
I don't get the error you were talking about. what exactly does it say? an HD playback error? is it when you start to play the file, or while it's playing? using GOM? or are you talking about an error while trying to play one of said games on the list? interesting.

Next I'd like to talk about CS for a moment:
Counterstrike 1.6 via steam works at a retro best: software mode, 640x480 ratio, 16-bit color fullscreen. works well. I can own on fools. it will support the widescreen mode 1280x800 but gets REAL choppy. Tis a lot of fun to play despite being 640x480. 800x600 seems to lag a grip, same with 1024x768. just don't try to play it on the touchpad

About the (Poulsbo)GMA500/ my opinion is that the 6.14.11.1007 driver still seems to be the best driver out so far....

oh, im going to be looking for other emulators out there, T'would be sweet if i could find a psp emulator... maybe........... theN64emulator is still my favorite. ( even though I can't get the sound to work in some games. ) however, good fun can be had. in zelda ocarina of time, when you get to the town at the foot of the doom mountian or whatever; attack the chicken about ten times... just do it.


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100

Last edited by ptdmini12; 06-12-2009 at 04:14 AM.
Reply With Quote
  (#24) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Default 06-12-2009, 03:57 AM

no way... quake III ? did ya test it? a .torrent?
has anyone tried diablo2 since installing the new driver?


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100

Last edited by ptdmini12; 06-12-2009 at 04:18 AM.
Reply With Quote
  (#25) Old
unreasonable unreasonable is offline
Member
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-12-2009, 09:06 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptdmini12 View Post
so...
first of all, unreasonable,
hmmmmmm..
I don't get the error you were talking about. what exactly does it say? an HD playback error? is it when you start to play the file, or while it's playing? using GOM? or are you talking about an error while trying to play one of said games on the list? interesting.
When I open H.264 (mkv, mp4) and VC-1/WMV9 (wmv) files (doesnt matter if it is SD or HD content) in GOM player, it says that it cannot use some kind of overlay mixer (Xvid avis dont give this notice though). The rusult is that WMVs up to 720p play great but H.264 is choppy, which is almost complete oposite to what happens in Windows Media Players (11, classic) where H.264 up to 1080p run perfectly and VC-1 is choppy as hell.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptdmini12 View Post
no way... quake III ? did ya test it? a .torrent?
Havent tested it yet. I would prefer this standalone mode though:-) Urban Terror: Urban Terrorâ„¢ Downloads
Reply With Quote
  (#26) Old
slowmotionzx slowmotionzx is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 18
Join Date: May 2009
Default 06-12-2009, 09:43 AM

I cant seem to find this driver 6.14.11.1007. I went to the M-book website and it wont let me download it. Is there anyway you can upload it somewhere so i can try it out?
Reply With Quote
  (#27) Old
unreasonable unreasonable is offline
Member
 
Posts: 45
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 06-12-2009, 10:50 AM

Reply With Quote
  (#28) Old
robvalverde robvalverde is offline
Member
 
robvalverde's Avatar
 
Posts: 32
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default 06-12-2009, 11:47 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by ptdmini12 View Post
no way... quake III ? did ya test it?
Not directly but:



Mini 12 - 1.6Ghz - 60Gb - 6cell - Windows 7
iMac 24" - 3.06Ghz - 4Gb RAM - 1Tb
Reply With Quote
  (#29) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Default 06-12-2009, 06:14 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by robvalverde View Post
sweet. ill test it today if i can find a dl.
hmm. unreasonable, hmmmmm, yeah, i don't know...


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100
Reply With Quote
  (#30) Old
ptdmini12 ptdmini12 is offline
Member
 
ptdmini12's Avatar
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Vancouver, WA
Send a message via ICQ to ptdmini12 Send a message via MSN to ptdmini12 Send a message via Yahoo to ptdmini12
Default 06-12-2009, 06:58 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by unreasonable View Post
....Havent tested it yet. I would prefer this standalone mode though:-) Urban Terror: Urban Terrorâ„¢ Downloads
doesn't work. openGL wont initialize.

error:

ioQ3 1.35urt win-x86 Dec 20 2007
----- FS_Startup -----
Going through search path...

----------------------
99 files in pk3 files
execing default.cfg
execing q3config.cfg
execing autoexec.cfg
Hunk_Clear: reset the hunk ok
...detecting CPU, found Intel Pentium III
----- Client Initialization -----
Couldn't read q3history.
----- Initializing Renderer ----
-------------------------------
QKEY found.
----- Client Initialization Complete -----
----- R_Init -----
Initializing OpenGL subsystem
...initializing QGL
...calling LoadLibrary( 'C:\WINDOWS\system32\opengl32.dll' ): succeeded
...setting mode 4: 800 600 FS
...using colorsbits of 32
...calling CDS: ok
...registered window class
...created window@0,0 (800x600)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 8 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 32, 24, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (4)
...setting mode 4: 800 600 FS
...using colorsbits of 16
...calling CDS: ok
...created window@0,0 (800x600)
Initializing OpenGL driver
...getting DC: succeeded
...GLW_ChoosePFD( 16, 16, 0 )
...35 PFDs found
...GLW_ChoosePFD failed
...failed to find an appropriate PIXELFORMAT
...restoring display settings
...WARNING: could not set the given mode (3)
...shutting down QGL
...unloading OpenGL DLL
...assuming '3dfxvgl' is a standalone driver
...initializing QGL
...WARNING: missing Glide installation, assuming no 3Dfx available
...shutting down QGL
----- CL_Shutdown -----
RE_Shutdown( 1 )
-----------------------
GLW_StartOpenGL() - could not load OpenGL subsystem


Atom Z520@1.33 | Windows 7100
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.