FAQs and How To's Handy FAQs/How To Guides for installing/configuring Mac OS X.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
atm153 atm153 is offline
Senior Member
 
atm153's Avatar
 
Posts: 119
Join Date: May 2009
Send a message via AIM to atm153 Send a message via Skype™ to atm153
Default 08-10-2009, 03:10 AM

10.5.8 doesn't seem to work with it. Getting the same message as jenbi posted, and forcing it with ForceWake=y makes it say something about an improper signature.
  (#12) Old
spida505 spida505 is offline
Senior Member
 
spida505's Avatar
 
Posts: 155
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Cheshire, UK
Default 08-10-2009, 08:10 PM

I'm having exactly the same problem. Sleep worked once then I get all that stuff about hibernate being too old and force waking doesn't solve it either. I lose wifi and sometimes bluetooth on wake. Same as before.


Mini 9| 2Gb RAM | 32Gb Kingspec | OS X 10.6.8 | 16Gb SDHC | webcam | BT | Wifi | NBI 0.8.4
MacBook Pro (Late 2007) | OSX 10.10.4
  (#13) Old
TheDoctah TheDoctah is offline
Senior Member
 
TheDoctah's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, ON
Default 08-14-2009, 11:47 PM

Unable to get this working on Mini 9 with 10.5.6

"Hibernate image is too old by XXX seconds"


Cherry Red Dell Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 16 GB STEC SSD | 0.3 MP Webcam
BIOS A06 | 10.6.8
  (#14) Old
BAF BAF is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 27
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 08-15-2009, 12:33 AM

Sounds like it's waking up from sleep before the power is removed while it is in sleep.


BAF.cc
Dell Mini 10v, 1024x600, 160GB, 1GB, OS X 10.5.7
  (#15) Old
TheDoctah TheDoctah is offline
Senior Member
 
TheDoctah's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, ON
Default 08-15-2009, 01:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BAF View Post
Sounds like it's waking up from sleep before the power is removed while it is in sleep.

I tried this again...same results.

Basically, whats happening is:

After setting it all up, i close the lid to sleep (or press the power button and select sleep) and it goes to sleep instantly like it did before any of the changes. Its almost as if its completely oblivious that hibernate is enabled. Then, i do the whole power pull trick, restart, and i get that message whilst booting.


Cherry Red Dell Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 16 GB STEC SSD | 0.3 MP Webcam
BIOS A06 | 10.6.8
  (#16) Old
DAE51D
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Default hibernate doesn - 08-15-2009, 06:46 AM

I have a Mini 9 with 10.5.7 and this is not working for me either.

I followed the instructions twice just to be sure. Bascially it goes to sleep when I close the lid, and the light pulses. If I open the lid it never comes back but the screen is "on" because it has that dark/glow. SLEEP USED TO WORK before this however (how can I get it back please?? ). The only option I have is to power off by holding the button down for 4+ seconds. Then upon power up, I don't see anything about hibernate files? "sudo dmesg | grep hibernate" shows nothing. i do see a chameleon image in the top of the screen that I never had before. and a nicer apple icon/logo below it.

Mini-9. 2GB RAM. 32GB SSD. OSX 10.5.7 only (not multi-booting). Chameleon-2.0-RC2-r640-bin. DellEFI 1.2a5.

any ideas? especially how to get my suspend to work again if I cant have hibernate (yet)?
  (#17) Old
TheDoctah TheDoctah is offline
Senior Member
 
TheDoctah's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, ON
Default 08-15-2009, 01:05 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAE51D View Post
I have a Mini 9 with 10.5.7 and this is not working for me either.

I followed the instructions twice just to be sure. Bascially it goes to sleep when I close the lid, and the light pulses. If I open the lid it never comes back but the screen is "on" because it has that dark/glow. SLEEP USED TO WORK before this however (how can I get it back please?? ). The only option I have is to power off by holding the button down for 4+ seconds. Then upon power up, I don't see anything about hibernate files? "sudo dmesg | grep hibernate" shows nothing. i do see a chameleon image in the top of the screen that I never had before. and a nicer apple icon/logo below it.

Mini-9. 2GB RAM. 32GB SSD. OSX 10.5.7 only (not multi-booting). Chameleon-2.0-RC2-r640-bin. DellEFI 1.2a5.

any ideas? especially how to get my suspend to work again if I cant have hibernate (yet)?

run dellefi again and get it to re-install everything and disable hibernate


Cherry Red Dell Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 16 GB STEC SSD | 0.3 MP Webcam
BIOS A06 | 10.6.8
  (#18) Old
formerglory formerglory is offline
Senior Member
 
formerglory's Avatar
 
Posts: 115
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 08-17-2009, 03:53 AM

Random question, but would this work on a Mini 9?


Sold my Mini 9 for a larger netbook, one that's easier on my wrists and hands.
Current Machine: 2010 MacBook Pro 13", 2.4 GHz C2D, 4GB RAM, Win7 Pro x64/OS X 10.6.3

And I play with my girlfriend's Mini 10v ^_^.

Interested in using MATLAB on the Mini 10v? Check out my benchmarks!
  (#19) Old
DAE51D
Guest
 
Posts: n/a
Unhappy 08-17-2009, 10:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by formerglory View Post
Random question, but would this work on a Mini 9?
Did you not read my post above? I have a Mini-9 and it didn't work.
  (#20) Old
TheDoctah TheDoctah is offline
Senior Member
 
TheDoctah's Avatar
 
Posts: 194
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Brampton, ON
Default 08-18-2009, 02:15 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by DAE51D View Post
Did you not read my post above? I have a Mini-9 and it didn't work.
lol...

i was not successful with this either on my Mini 9. Oh well, no loss, no gain. I'm still happy for what i've got.


Cherry Red Dell Mini 9 | 2 GB RAM | 16 GB STEC SSD | 0.3 MP Webcam
BIOS A06 | 10.6.8
 

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.