Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
michaelcly michaelcly is offline
Member
 
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default Should I upgrade my BIOS - 01-08-2012, 08:49 PM

I have BIOS A01and wonder if a bios upgrade makes sense. I've looked through threads that indicate BIOS 5 or above is not good with SL. Does it make sense to upgrade to A04? What would be the advantage? I have Mini 9, 10.6.7, 32gb stec, 1gb ram.

I have had my mini 9 for about three weeks. I love it. I put OSX 10.6.7 on it, ordered a 32gb runcore ssd, 2gb ram, and a camera w/cable. So far everything works perfectly...display out, sleep, etc. The only thing that I don't like is the occasional
L O N G delay when handling large files.

What would upgrading the bios do for me?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 01-08-2012, 09:25 PM

possibly give you a nice paperweight or very expensive doorstop...personally if all is good LEAVE IT ALONE......


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
michaelcly michaelcly is offline
Member
 
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default 01-08-2012, 09:35 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
possibly give you a nice paperweight or very expensive doorstop...personally if all is good LEAVE IT ALONE......
Thanks! I'll pass on the paperweight.

Thanks for the fast reply.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,201
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-09-2012, 12:52 AM

While I don't share Rich's antipathy to BIOS updates, I would say that if you don't have any problems, leave it be. BIOS A02 adds support for F11 and F12 function keys. I had no problem with Snow Leopard with BIOS A06.


Steve
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
michaelcly michaelcly is offline
Member
 
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default 01-09-2012, 04:54 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
While I don't share Rich's antipathy to BIOS updates, I would say that if you don't have any problems, leave it be. BIOS A02 adds support for F11 and F12 function keys. I had no problem with Snow Leopard with BIOS A06.
I don't care to much about f1 and f12, but I'm curious what the other bios upgrades do.

I'm more concerned about the new Runcore 32 I just got. I thought maybe the upgraded bios might address the ability to use secure erase. I've read several threads and concluded the pro light I ordered supports it and so does 10.6.7. At least I see it in the file menu. I tried it and it seems to work... It behaves just like my Mac mini when I use secure erase. I was thinking my new SSD drive might last longer. But then I also learned after reading several threads the mini 9 can't really secure erase anyway. So I don't know. Really, 10.6.7 runs so well on this little mini9 as it is. I just use it to browse, pay bills, you tube, facebook, email and tinker with. But I am going to add a camera and microphone and try skype.

Getting off the BIOS topic now but I'll ask any way; when I upgrade the the ssd, If I do a disk image, won't I be moving a bunch of garbage left by old operating systems? Wouldn't it be better to format a single guid partition and then use Time Machine?
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
michaelcly michaelcly is offline
Member
 
Posts: 61
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default 01-09-2012, 02:22 PM

never mind...just being lazy. Did some digging and got the answers I needed.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,201
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-11-2012, 01:26 AM

Whether you can use secure erase really depends on the drive. The controller and the BIOS should be able to handle it. All of the tools I have seen insist that one needs to be able to set a drive password, and my old RunCore can't.


Steve
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.