Dell Mini 1018 Forum for discussion on the refreshed Dell Mini 1018, released Q3 2010.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
JinRoh JinRoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default Upgading to 2GB RAM... - 09-19-2010, 01:36 AM

So... If by any change I decided to upgrade to 2GB RAM
According to Dell the netbook's RAM is a PC3-10600 (DDR3 1333 MHz) SODIMM (operates at 667 MHz).

So my question is... (as I've never upgraded RAM before), would it easy to upgrade on the 1018?

In order to buy ram, getting a "PC3-10600 SODIMM" is the right option?

I'd also appreciate brand suggestions (or links, or both, as I cannot find much) . I've only found Kingston at 43$ (2GB)
Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 09-19-2010, 02:47 PM

Kingston is good, and $43 is a good price too, just remove the keyboard and the memory is under that...really easy to do

Service Manual Link:...this is for the 1012.....the 1018 is almost the same

http://support.dell.com/support/edoc...n/sm/index.htm


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
JinRoh JinRoh is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2010
Default 09-20-2010, 08:33 PM

So this one : Kingston ValueRAM 2GB DDR3 1333MHz PC3-10666 SODIMM

43€ (not $ :P) should be enough?

I've also found a Mushkin 2GB PC3-10666 SODIMM...

Which one is better? :P
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 09-20-2010, 09:38 PM

Either one of those should be fine. I used to be a big fan of Mushkin memory, but they've lost their luster for me. Not to say they're bad, but they''re no longer much better than the rest. The one you found is pretty much equivalent to the Kingston ValueRam. I've bought lots of ValueRam and never had a problem with it.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
TheBrad TheBrad is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2010
Unhappy 10-15-2010, 07:18 AM

Hello folks,

i also wanted to upgrade the memory of my 1018 to 2GB, but unfortunately it don't works. I ordered the following kingston memory module:

Kingston KVR1333D3S9/2G PC1333 2GB Arbeitsspeicher (DDR3) Retail

Kingston KVR1333D3S9/2G PC1333 2GB Arbeitsspeicher: Amazon.de: Computer & Zubeh├Âr

Placing it into my mini and booting the device, the power LED lights, but the screen remains black. No bios error codes or something like that. Replacing it with the original 1GB memory, the mini works fine.

Here is a picture of the two memory modules (top=2BG Kingston, bottom=1GB original DELL memory)

http://gallery.mikrokopter.de/main.p...10122.JPG.html

Did i make a mistake by choosing this memory module?

Thanks in advance for your help!

TheBrad
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 10-15-2010, 05:59 PM

That memory should work. It could be defective - return it to the seller.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
Arri Arri is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 5
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default 10-15-2010, 09:42 PM

Hi

How did you get to the memory. When I removed the keyboard on my 1018 I could not access the memory from there as the 1012 instructions say.

Thanks
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 10-16-2010, 12:56 AM

The 1018 is not the 1012.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
TheBrad TheBrad is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 2
Join Date: Oct 2010
Default 10-16-2010, 06:29 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by holmes4 View Post
That memory should work. It could be defective - return it to the seller.
Thanks for your reply. I would feel better if you didn't wrote "could" Are you sure or could anyone tell me if my choosen memory definately is the right one? Then i would return it to the seller

Thanks,
TheBrad
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 10-16-2010, 01:10 PM

It is the correct type of RAM for the 1018.


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.