Windows 7 Discussion on Windows 7 and operating it on the Dell Mini series.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
cmsell cmsell is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Upgrade to 7 Pro from Starter without Anytime - 01-12-2012, 07:40 PM

Hello - I just ordered a Mini 1012 and am waiting for it to be delivered. It comes with the Windows 7 Starter OS, but I want to upgrade it. I currently have an MSDN subscription, which has the Windows 7 Professional Retail version. I would like to install or upgrade to this new Pro edition. I've been reading on the web about it and I'm not sure how to go about this. Many places I read said I will NOT be able to do the Anytime Upgrade with my retail version. But some places said I will be able to... Does anyone have a similar experience where they are trying to upgrade but not by using Anytime?

Now if its not possible, do I have to do a clean install? Any recommendations?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-13-2012, 12:55 PM

I have no experience with this upgrade route, but since it is a new box to you, why not do a fresh install?


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 01-15-2012, 05:19 AM

as long as you PURCHASE the anytime upgrade it should work fine, if all else falls, do what Steve said and do a new install, but the ANYTIME UPGRADE should work, I have done many of these for my clients and there are usually no issues, key in the code they give you and 'poof' you are upgraded to whatever version you paid for (Home/Business/Pro/Ultimate..etc)....Technology huh?...


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 01-15-2012 at 05:25 AM.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
cmsell cmsell is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 12
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 01-18-2012, 04:32 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
as long as you PURCHASE the anytime upgrade it should work fine, if all else falls, do what Steve said and do a new install, but the ANYTIME UPGRADE should work, I have done many of these for my clients and there are usually no issues, key in the code they give you and 'poof' you are upgraded to whatever version you paid for (Home/Business/Pro/Ultimate..etc)....Technology huh?...
As I said in my original post, I have an MSDN subscription which means I can download Windows 7 PRO (retail) from the subscription. So this does not involve purchasing the anytime upgrade. Obviously that works. My question is can I use the product key from the Windows 7 pro (retail) to do the upgrade? I know I can do a complete reinstall if that does not work, but I wanted to see if anyone was able to just use the "anytime" upgrade while using a product key from a full retail version rather than an anytime upgrade version.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
holmes4 holmes4 is offline
Administrator
 
holmes4's Avatar
 
Posts: 6,186
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: New Hampshire
Default 01-19-2012, 09:34 PM

I don't think you can do this. Windows product keys are tied to the "channel" through which the product was obtained. Upgrade keys are particular to that channel, and a key from one channel doesn't work with others. Your MSDN key (not retail, though the end result is pretty much the same) is a "Volume License" key and is usable only for full installs (or upgrades from XP/Vista.)


Steve
Mini 9|2GB RAM|64GB RunCore|Intel 5300|Windows 10
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
DHK DHK is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default 03-02-2012, 09:00 PM

I have a full installation disc of Windows 7 Ultimate. I used this key to upgrade my Dell Inspiron from 7 HP to Ult using Windows Anytime Upgrade.

You don't HAVE to buy the discs to upgrade. You just need a valid license key to upgrade.

You can find license keys available for sale online pretty inexpensively. I use one particular site and upgraded my netbook and a desktop to Windows 7 Ultimate for $30 each.


Dell Inspiron 11z (from Sprint); Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit; i3-U330 1.2Ghz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; 250GB HDD @ 5400 RPM
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 03-02-2012, 09:16 PM

the disc that you have of Windows 7 Ultimate allows you to install onto 1 (ONE) PC and 1 (ONE) PC ONLY, unless you remove that one copy to install on another PC then having 2 PC's with the using the same key is ILLEGAL and is not to be talked about on this forum....buying license keys is also ILLEGAL and can NOT be discussed on this forum either, you must PURCHASE a LEGAL License in order to install on another system, any further discussions pertaining to ILLEGAL keys will be deleted immediately and the poster of such could be banned from this site.....


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 03-02-2012 at 09:18 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
DHK DHK is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default 03-04-2012, 03:16 AM

My keys ARE legal and were fully verified as Genuine through the Windows Activation service. You'll notice that I DID NOT post the link of WHERE I obtained the keys.

Also, I purchased 2 separate keys to upgrade my other 2 computers.

In the future, I would appreciate a PM should I post something that could possibly be considered "controversial".


Dell Inspiron 11z (from Sprint); Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit; i3-U330 1.2Ghz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; 250GB HDD @ 5400 RPM
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 03-04-2012, 03:23 AM

it was done on the public forum for a reason:

to deter others from obtaining illegal keys also

BTW: just because a system passes Validation doesnt make them legal, I have seen sites that have utilities you install to fool the system, at least you did it the proper way......kudos to you


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
DHK DHK is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 4
Join Date: Mar 2012
Default 03-04-2012, 03:26 AM

However, to keep it legal, here's the Windows 7 upgrade site:

Windows Anytime Upgrade - Upgrade your Windows 7 edition - Microsoft Windows

---------- Post added at 07:26 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:25 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by rrfranczak3 View Post
it was done on the public forum for a reason:

to deter others from obtaining illegal keys also

BTW: just because a system passes Validation doesnt make them legal, I have seen sites that have utilities you install to fool the system, at least you did it the proper way......kudos to you
Fair enough. Thank you.


Dell Inspiron 11z (from Sprint); Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit; i3-U330 1.2Ghz; 6GB DDR3 RAM; 250GB HDD @ 5400 RPM
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.