Dell Mini 1018 Forum for discussion on the refreshed Dell Mini 1018, released Q3 2010.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
englishempire englishempire is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default 07-23-2011, 07:00 PM

The mini has an anytime upgrade package installed and i wanted to know if the upgrade that i will buy is the same as buying a retail full install?
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 07-23-2011, 11:34 PM

it might be installed but NOT activated until you pay Microsoft, then they will give you an activation code to upgrade to whatever version you choose, that version will be the same as if you bought that same version at a retail store the only difference is that you wont physically have the DVD/CD's, but if you ever have to re-load then you could restore back to the starter edition and re-enter that same activation code and be back to where you were.....


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
englishempire englishempire is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default 07-24-2011, 09:24 AM

I have three computers here with different os, all bought by me brand new from dell directly that have discs with them, the mini came with a windows 7 starter install and in the start menu is an anytime upgrade button which directs straight to the Microsoft site, my question was that the starter edition seems to have lots of stuff on it that i wonder if would exist on a retail pack of say home premium or professional or if i would get less of this on an upgrade version straight from the mini upgrade?

---------- Post added at 10:24 AM ---------- Previous post was at 10:00 AM ----------

Okay, just bought the upgrade so hopefully it will be better.
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 07-24-2011, 02:15 PM

no...its the same


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
englishempire englishempire is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default 07-26-2011, 04:44 PM

ok it seems better with home premium bought via anytime upgrade.
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 07-26-2011, 06:48 PM

I run Win 7 Ultimate with Aero turned on and have no issues with speed or heat, I mean they generally run hot anyway (no fans)...but hey....its a Mini


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
englishempire englishempire is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default 07-26-2011, 08:42 PM

Nice spec you have, do you know if 2GB RAM is a good upgrade? I tried fitting a 2GB card but got a blank screen so put the 1GB back in.
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 07-27-2011, 12:45 AM

well, our systems are different, my upgrade is MUCH different than yours, all you need to do is buy a 2gb chip ($40).....with me I need to replace the daughter board which also has the processor on it ($160)....originally the 1010's really couldnt be upgraded because Dell soldered the RAM on the daughter board and wanted $554 for the board, I have found the board I need for $160 and will be upgrading soon, there are VERY few with a 1010 and 2GB RAM and I will be one of them, the 2gb for you will allow faster multi-tasking and might help with video playback also...generally it will not be a night/day difference but under some conditions you will see a difference in speed..with me I am just looking for some games I play to be a little less sluggish and probably will also help with the general overall speed of the system when it comes to multi-tasking, it will allow the system to load more things into RAM at the same time...rather than having to go out the the hard drive all the time go grab more data to fully load a program/game or whatever


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case

Last edited by rrfranczak3; 07-27-2011 at 12:49 AM.
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
englishempire englishempire is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 11
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default 07-28-2011, 03:06 PM

Just fitted the 2gb and what a difference, transformed it really and now is not obstructive like it used to be, i will see long term and in different locations but first impressions are good.
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.