Dell Mini 9 OS X Discussion Discussion for installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini and Vostro A90

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
markbolwell54 markbolwell54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default Dell Inspiron 910 OSX install? - 07-25-2011, 05:34 PM

Hi Guys & Gals, Just registered a couple of hours ago and have been poking about since lol. Theres so much great stuff here and full of useful info.

I have tried picking all the info up I can but want to ask a couple of questions for clarification,

1. Can I install OSX on my Dell Inspiron 910, Bios A04, 8GB SSD, 1GB Ram, Intel Atom processor?

2. Has anyone installed on a similar spec machine and how does it run?

3. Theres lots of guides around of how to install ect but which one do I use? lol.

Many thanks in advance.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
tastewar tastewar is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 203
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Arlington, MA
Smile 07-25-2011, 06:38 PM

I was told this guide was most up to date, though it requires a Mac to get you going:

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/gene...revisited.html

Mini 9 == Inspiron 910, all of them are Atom, so yes, plenty of people have done what you want to do. BIOS A04 should not be an obstacle, in fact later rev's are obstacles to using 3rd party batteries. Don't update unless there's a reason.

You might be tight on space. Leopard would be easier than Snow Leopard. Look around a little more, you'll find stories of people dealing with space issues.


Refurbished Cherry Red mini 9, 2 GB, RunCore 16 GB SSD; Bluetooth, 1.3 MP Webcam;
Mac OS X 10.6.7; NBI 20100616212351; BIOS A04, USB Legacy off
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
markbolwell54 markbolwell54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-25-2011, 07:40 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by tastewar View Post
I was told this guide was most up to date, though it requires a Mac to get you going:

Mini 9 == Inspiron 910, all of them are Atom, so yes, plenty of people have done what you want to do. BIOS A04 should not be an obstacle, in fact later rev's are obstacles to using 3rd party batteries. Don't update unless there's a reason.

You might be tight on space. Leopard would be easier than Snow Leopard. Look around a little more, you'll find stories of people dealing with space issues.
Thanks for the info mate.
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
brett89 brett89 is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-25-2011, 10:37 PM

Yes you can do that. Mechdrew has a guide to shrink your install size by making available to you options to deselect.

That's found here. Advanced 3: Customizing the Mac OS X Leopard Installer | Guides | OS X | mechdrew
Ignore the "Only works for Leopard" bit

I also used the same guide as tastewar recommended. I tried an old option via gizmodo, but that was antique to say the least, and I tried to do the install described by Oscar with a windows computer, but had some issues.

Mine was quite literally the same spec except BIOS A05. The 1 gig of ram was changed out and it wasn't night and day difference, so it can easily suffice.


Dell M4500 i7 940XM, 8GB DDR3, 256GB SSD, Quadro FX1800M, 15.6" screen at 1080p. Win 7 Pro.

Black Dell Mini 9. 2GB G Skill RAM, 32GB Runcore, Dell 1510 "Airport Extreme", US Intl keyboard, 2.0 MP webcam, OS X 10.6.7,Bluetooth, sleep, ALC 268 fix and a proper Apple logo.

Last edited by brett89; 07-25-2011 at 10:39 PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
markbolwell54 markbolwell54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-26-2011, 07:04 AM

Thanks Brett.

I cant wait to try this out.

Someone suggested that an upgrade disk from will work for the install? Will that work?
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
r6680jc r6680jc is offline
Senior Member
 
r6680jc's Avatar
 
Posts: 229
Join Date: May 2010
Default 07-26-2011, 08:40 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by markbolwell54 View Post
Thanks Brett.

I cant wait to try this out.

Someone suggested that an upgrade disk from will work for the install? Will that work?
You need a retail OS X install disc to install the OSX by making image file of the disc and write it to an USB stick or external HDD.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
underwhelmed underwhelmed is offline
Guru
 
Posts: 1,375
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Texas
Default 07-26-2011, 10:10 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by markbolwell54 View Post
Thanks Brett.

I cant wait to try this out.

Someone suggested that an upgrade disk from will work for the install? Will that work?
The Snow Leopard 10.6.3 disc you buy at Retail for $29 is an Upgrade disc, and it will allow a full install.

Apple supplied upgrade disc for a specific model will not work properly and discussion of using one is not allowed here.


Mini 9 | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB Runcore | 2 GIGS RAM
10V | OS X 10.6.7 | NBI 20100616212351 |BIOS 06|160 GB|1 GIG RAM| 6 Cell Dell Battery
Functioning Hibernation

Back up Mini 9| OS X 10.6.7| NBI 20100616212351| BIOS 05 | 32 GB SuperTalent | 2 GIGS RAM
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
markbolwell54 markbolwell54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-26-2011, 10:18 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by underwhelmed View Post
The Snow Leopard 10.6.3 disc you buy at Retail for $29 is an Upgrade disc, and it will allow a full install.

Apple supplied upgrade disc for a specific model will not work properly and discussion of using one is not allowed here.
Thanks under and apologies for speaking out of turn, forum's usually have a steep learning curve as to whats right and whats not so theres my 1st lesson lol.

Thanks for the info buddy.
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
markbolwell54 markbolwell54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-27-2011, 06:57 AM

Anyone tried Iboot? That seems fairly striaght forward way of installing.
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
markbolwell54 markbolwell54 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 16
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default 07-29-2011, 10:11 AM

Well it has been done! With only a couple of small issues;

1. OSX wouldn't fit on my 8gb SSD so we installed it to an external drive but when we try to image it back on the restore bumps the file size back up again! We were going to try carboncopy to resolve this?

2. The keyboard works but some of the special characters are wrong like the "@" symbol? Is there a fix for this?
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.