Linux Forums about Linux operating systems on the Dell Inspiron Mini.

(#1) Old

Default Web Broswer won't load after update... - 10-28-2010, 02:03 PM

I have a bone stock Mini 9 with the Dell loaded Ubuntu and noticed the green update arrow this morning. I proceeded to download the updates which appeared to be sucessful. However the web browser icon is missing now and when I click on ithe browser in the application list I get an error saying it's not present or something similair. (I'm at work now and don't have the device with me.) I do have an icon for something called the "launcher" it's a spring looking thing. I did note during the download information that Firefox 3.6.6 didn't load and I suspect that is part of the problem. The device does connect to the internet as my e-mail works.

How can I regain my browser? Thanks for any help. As an aside, I'm a complete novice with Ubuntu, this is the first issue I've had.
  (#2) Old
Guru

Default 10-28-2010, 03:06 PM

Open a terminal window, then run "firefox". Any helpful error messages?

Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
  (#3) Old

Default 10-28-2010, 10:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by reflex View Post
Open a terminal window, then run "firefox". Any helpful error messages?
ok, I'm at home now and can mess with the computer. Here's the situation since the "update" process this morning:

web browser icon missing on task bar. It it's place is an icon called the "launcher" which looks like platform with a spring beneath it.
When you try to start the browser in the Applications Menu I get this error message failed to execute child process "a browser" (no such file or directory)

Per your suggestion I opened the terminal and entered firefox. This causes the browser to open with two open tabs. The first has the following in it:

browser.startup.homepage=http://en.us.dell.yahoo.com
startup.homepage_override_url=http://en.us.dell.dell.yahoo.com