Windows 7 Discussion on Windows 7 and operating it on the Dell Mini series.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
scottyrox scottyrox is offline
Member
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gaylord, MI, USA
Send a message via MSN to scottyrox
Default going from os x to windows 7 rtm wont work... - 10-22-2009, 01:12 PM

im pretty sure i have the usb set up right but for some reason it wont load
i get to this error that says "media test failure. check cable" then doesnt really do much...i dont know what to do

---------- Post added at 09:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 09:11 AM ----------

and forgot to mention that i dont have a windows vista or 7 computer right now...only xp


Alpine White Dell Mini 9 | 16GB Super Talent SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate | 2GB RAM | Bluetooth | Internal USB Hub | 2GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | 16GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | BIOS A05 |

Christmas list: MDD Extended Battery | Intel 5300 with 3rd Antenna | Hoda Touch Screen
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
WolfKeeper WolfKeeper is offline
Retired Mini user
 
WolfKeeper's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default 10-22-2009, 01:36 PM

How did you set up the flash drive? If you're getting the "check cable" error it means it's skipped over the USB (finding it not bootable) and attempted an Ethernet boot.


Getting an iPad
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
anguish anguish is offline
Super Moderator
 
anguish's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,203
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit
Default 10-22-2009, 01:42 PM

Making sure too, you've got the BIOS set correctly as well? And you're hitting F10 to tell it to boot from USB?

Otherwise, I'd be inclined to agree with WolfKeeper, it would sound like the drive itself is not bootable. There are some USB keys that aren't, but most you can use are, you just have to prepare the drive properly.


Alienware M11xR2 - Core i5 1.06 - 4 GB - 250 GB HD

Triple Boot Guide - 10v RAM Upgrade Videos - mechdrew's OSX guides
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
jwsamuel jwsamuel is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 10-22-2009, 01:46 PM

Try going to the BIOS setup and restoring defaults beforeyou try to install Windows.

Jim
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
scottyrox scottyrox is offline
Member
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gaylord, MI, USA
Send a message via MSN to scottyrox
Default 10-22-2009, 02:21 PM

i got it to load the setup but now when i try to chose a partition for it to load on t says that t was unable to create a new system partition
gerrrrr


Alpine White Dell Mini 9 | 16GB Super Talent SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate | 2GB RAM | Bluetooth | Internal USB Hub | 2GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | 16GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | BIOS A05 |

Christmas list: MDD Extended Battery | Intel 5300 with 3rd Antenna | Hoda Touch Screen
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
BKR2879 BKR2879 is offline
Senior Member
 
BKR2879's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Default 10-22-2009, 02:25 PM

If you had OSX on there you'll need to delete all the partitions then make a new one for Win7.


DELL Vostro 1720 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL XPS M1330 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL Vostro A90 - 2GB - 64GB SSD - OSX
.
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
MoInSTL MoInSTL is offline
Super Moderator
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Send a message via AIM to MoInSTL Send a message via MSN to MoInSTL Send a message via Yahoo to MoInSTL
Default 10-22-2009, 02:26 PM

See my new post with link instructions below and see if it helps.

http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/wind...half-hour.html


Studio 15 1558| Black Chainlink| i5-520M, |4GB RAM |500 GB HD@7200 |ATI HD 4570, 512K|Backlit|9 Cell|Web Cam|Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
scottyrox scottyrox is offline
Member
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gaylord, MI, USA
Send a message via MSN to scottyrox
Default 10-22-2009, 02:29 PM

how do i delete the partitions?
i already deleted all of them in the windows installer and tried making a new one and got the same message...


Alpine White Dell Mini 9 | 16GB Super Talent SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate | 2GB RAM | Bluetooth | Internal USB Hub | 2GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | 16GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | BIOS A05 |

Christmas list: MDD Extended Battery | Intel 5300 with 3rd Antenna | Hoda Touch Screen
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
MoInSTL MoInSTL is offline
Super Moderator
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Send a message via AIM to MoInSTL Send a message via MSN to MoInSTL Send a message via Yahoo to MoInSTL
Default 10-22-2009, 02:31 PM

Now you have to create a partition. Please go to the link and read it before asking further questions.

From the link:
Before you even think about copying Windows 7 to the USB key, you must give it an active partition it and make it bootable


Studio 15 1558| Black Chainlink| i5-520M, |4GB RAM |500 GB HD@7200 |ATI HD 4570, 512K|Backlit|9 Cell|Web Cam|Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
scottyrox scottyrox is offline
Member
 
Posts: 83
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Gaylord, MI, USA
Send a message via MSN to scottyrox
Default 10-22-2009, 02:32 PM

i did and im still getting the same message


Alpine White Dell Mini 9 | 16GB Super Talent SSD | Windows 7 Ultimate | 2GB RAM | Bluetooth | Internal USB Hub | 2GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | 16GB PNY Internal Jump Drive | BIOS A05 |

Christmas list: MDD Extended Battery | Intel 5300 with 3rd Antenna | Hoda Touch Screen
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.