Windows 7 Discussion on Windows 7 and operating it on the Dell Mini series.

View Poll Results:
0 0%
Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#61) Old
Athena Athena is offline
Senior Member
 
Athena's Avatar
 
Posts: 315
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 09-09-2009, 03:09 AM

So, tried booting today and got this loud beeping noise with a failed boot. Tried about 5 times, no luck. Finally attached an external cd drive to boot from Win 7 ISO and booted fine (without even having to actually boot from the cd). Gave me quite a scare though. WTF happened?

It's windows 7 home premium

EDIT: I was told this was not because of Windows 7!


Toshiba Satellite M645-S40408 | Fusion Finish | 500 gb | 6gb | Core i5-460M | NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M | Win 7
HP Mini 311 | Black | 500 gb | 2gb | Atom 270 | NVIDIA ION | Win 7
Dell Mini 1010 | Obsidian Black | 160gb | 1gb | Atom z520 | Win XP
Reply With Quote
  (#62) Old
Athena Athena is offline
Senior Member
 
Athena's Avatar
 
Posts: 315
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default 09-09-2009, 12:54 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Athena View Post
So, tried booting today and got this loud beeping noise with a failed boot. Tried about 5 times, no luck. Finally attached an external cd drive to boot from Win 7 ISO and booted fine (without even having to actually boot from the cd). Gave me quite a scare though. WTF happened?

It's windows 7 home premium
Update: It no longer boots at all. Well... this is a disappointment.


Toshiba Satellite M645-S40408 | Fusion Finish | 500 gb | 6gb | Core i5-460M | NVIDIA GeForce GT 330M | Win 7
HP Mini 311 | Black | 500 gb | 2gb | Atom 270 | NVIDIA ION | Win 7
Dell Mini 1010 | Obsidian Black | 160gb | 1gb | Atom z520 | Win XP
Reply With Quote
  (#63) Old
bjd223 bjd223 is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 190
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 09-13-2009, 10:55 PM

Does it still BEEP? That means it is failing the POST (power on self test). The BEEPs are an error code which will stear you in the right direction.

I would open the bottom and re-seat your RAM, and anything else that could be loose.

P.S. Remove the battery and powercord before you go removing or re-seating the RAM.
Reply With Quote
  (#64) Old
littletinymonkey littletinymonkey is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 1
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 10-25-2009, 11:10 PM

Twice now I've tried Windows 7 on my Dell Mini and within 1 week, each time, the HDD fails, confirmed by Dell's diagnostic.

The first time was several months ago and I got a replacement drive from Dell and switched to XP. Windows 7 goes retail and I am now on hold with tech support to get another drive replacement. I wiped XP from it and put 7 on it about 5 days ago.

Someone tell me that this is not a coincidence!
Reply With Quote
  (#65) Old
Krause Krause is offline
Junior Member
 
Krause's Avatar
 
Posts: 22
Join Date: Jun 2009
Default 10-26-2009, 07:10 AM

I've been running Windows 7 for over a week now... so far so good... hope this doesn't happen to me


Quote:
Previously:
Mini 9  Obsidian Black  BIOS: A05  16GB SSD  2GB RAM  Webcam: 1.3 MP  BT: On  Legacy USB: Off  Snow Leopard 10.6.2  NBI/NBM 0.83  iWork '09  iPhoto '09  iMovie '09  Photoshop CS4  Soundbooth CS4
Mini 9 Obsidian Black BIOS: A05 16GB SSD 2GB RAM Webcam: 1.3 MP BT: On Legacy USB: Off Snow Leopard 10.5.8 NBI/NBM 0.83MSO 2K8 Aperture 3.03
Reply With Quote
  (#66) Old
MoInSTL MoInSTL is offline
Super Moderator
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Send a message via AIM to MoInSTL Send a message via MSN to MoInSTL Send a message via Yahoo to MoInSTL
Default 10-26-2009, 03:01 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Krause View Post
I've been running Windows 7 for over a week now... so far so good... hope this doesn't happen to me
It seems like this mostly occurs when it's installing and the dive is being worked hard.


Studio 15 1558| Black Chainlink| i5-520M, |4GB RAM |500 GB HD@7200 |ATI HD 4570, 512K|Backlit|9 Cell|Web Cam|Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
  (#67) Old
Adhesive Adhesive is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default 08-19-2010, 06:04 PM

Well, have had my 8g mini9 for about 2 years now, and the other day I tried installing a version of win7 home premium that I stripped down with vlite, now I'm getting the dreaded no operating system found message, and 0mb drive displayed in the bios. I was running win7 pro on the drive before without any problems, the only reason I was changing was to try to save some space with a lighter version of win7.

Have there been any updates on this problem? It sounds like a bug with the firmware and/or bios rather than it simply failing under stress. It seems to frequently happen during new installations of an OS, and in my case, at least, it happened before the SSD was actually stressed with the reading/writing that happens during the installation process.

That being said, is there any way to save the drive, or is it simply time to buy a replacement drive? Any other time I'd be happy to just have an excuse to upgrade a component, but money is a little tight right now, and it be nice if there were a way around this.
Reply With Quote
  (#68) Old
MoInSTL MoInSTL is offline
Super Moderator
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Send a message via AIM to MoInSTL Send a message via MSN to MoInSTL Send a message via Yahoo to MoInSTL
Default 08-29-2010, 05:35 PM

Adhesive, sorry to say, it's dead. I think I was the first one here to post about it.

May want to look in the For Sale forum thread here to save some money.


Studio 15 1558| Black Chainlink| i5-520M, |4GB RAM |500 GB HD@7200 |ATI HD 4570, 512K|Backlit|9 Cell|Web Cam|Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
  (#69) Old
rrfranczak3 rrfranczak3 is offline
Super Moderator
 
rrfranczak3's Avatar
 
Posts: 2,902
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Upstate New York, U.S of A.
Send a message via AIM to rrfranczak3 Send a message via MSN to rrfranczak3 Send a message via Yahoo to rrfranczak3
Default 08-29-2010, 07:49 PM

I have been dual booting Win XP Pro and Win 7 Ult for over a year now and not a single issue...I basically use Win 7 Ult..cant remember the last time I booted into XP Pro


Dell Mini 10 (Obsidian Black 1010), 2gb RAM, 1.66ghz 533mhz FSB (Z530) processor, A10 BIOS, 1 Terabyte (1000 GB) WD Scorpio Blue Hard Drive (5400rpm), Intel GMA 500 Integrated Graphics, TV Tuner, Bluetooth 2.1 module with EDR, 1.3mp Camera, 1366x768 HD Screen, Wireless 1510 b/g/n mini card, 6 cell (56WHr) Battery, 4gb SDHC, 64gb Flashdrive, Targus Netbook Chillpad, Targus Sport Case, Windows 7 Ultimate SP1 (500gb)/Windows 8.1 (500gb) (Dual Boot)

iPad 4 (64gb) w/Retina,Targus Versavu Case
Reply With Quote
  (#70) Old
MoInSTL MoInSTL is offline
Super Moderator
 
MoInSTL's Avatar
 
Posts: 605
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: St. Louis, Missouri
Send a message via AIM to MoInSTL Send a message via MSN to MoInSTL Send a message via Yahoo to MoInSTL
Default 08-29-2010, 09:37 PM

Several of the stock SSD drives failed. I had a 16G stock drive but luckily it was under warranty and they shipped it to me.


Studio 15 1558| Black Chainlink| i5-520M, |4GB RAM |500 GB HD@7200 |ATI HD 4570, 512K|Backlit|9 Cell|Web Cam|Windows 7 Professional x64
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.