Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades Discuss Dell Mini 9 Hardware and Upgrades.

(#1) Old

Question I have two Mini 9's and no SSDs. What should I do? - 12-18-2010, 04:14 PM

Somehow I fracked up the SSD on my dell mini that my parents gave me a few years ago. My brother got a new laptop, so I bought his off of him. Trying to increase the performance, I deleted the pagefile.sys, and that destroyed that SSD as well. *sigh*

So now I have two Minis, and no SSDs. What should I do?

I can see three options:

1. buy new SSDs, reinstall, and sell the minis. How much money do you think I could make doing that? Can someone recommend an SSD?

2. sell the husks. They both have upgraded RAM and some sweet stickers on them. Great shape. Anyone want to buy them? How much do you think I could get for them?

3. somehow use a flash drive to boot linux and use that for a media center or something. Is this even worth the effort? I've never used linux before.

Thanks!
  (#2) Old
Guru

Default 12-18-2010, 04:52 PM

You've tried and failed to reinstall Windows on the "failed" SSDs?

1. A new 16GB Mini 9 SSD seems to be $60. A used SSD probably would make it easier to make your money back.

2. I'd say less than $100 per. No warranty, no drive, and no OS kills the value to most people.

3. You can install full Linux on a Flash drive (preferably 8GB, but 4GB would work with discipline). But a Mini 9 can't play HD videos well, so it probably won't make a good media center. It'd probably make a decent "web appliance" though. Like a kitchen web browser, or a HDTV web browser (with a wireless keyboard/mouse).

You could make the Mini 9 into a HD media center if you swapped the WiFi card for a Broadcom Crystal Decoder card. But that costs $50.

Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
  (#3) Old

Default 12-19-2010, 12:03 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by rebent View Post