Dell Mini 9 Discussion Discussion on the Dell Inspiron Mini 9.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
mindmenace mindmenace is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 03-20-2009, 04:28 PM

i was browsing MDD website and noticed a runcore 128gb ssd pci-e for the Asus eee. Will this drive become available for the mini format? If so how long? I can only hope yes & soon.


\Black Mini, 1.3cam, bluetooth, 64gb runcore, 2gb gskill, Windows 7
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
WolfKeeper WolfKeeper is offline
Retired Mini user
 
WolfKeeper's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 03-20-2009, 04:46 PM

Not soon. They need to shrink the die for the physical chips. The Eee has a physically longer card and can hold more chips.


Getting an iPad
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
GearheadGeek GearheadGeek is offline
Member
 
Posts: 87
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 03-20-2009, 04:55 PM

It's funny how things have changed.... My first computer had 2 360k 5.25" floppies. That's it. No hard drive. (Yeah I'm in my 40s, what's it to ya?) My full-size notebook just has a 40gig drive, and that's not full... I'm only using 100 gig or so on my desktop machine, with all my music and photos, some video files and lots of software. The Mini9 isn't really suitable as a video-editing workhorse, I think 64 gig should be workable for any practical use of the thing. At some point, more gigs of storage just becomes a bragging point, like the 268 hp in a V6 Camry... how many Camry drivers need (or ever use) 268 hp?


Mini9|Obsidian Black|2G ram|32G Runcore|OSX 10.5.7
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
TheMission TheMission is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 20
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 03-20-2009, 06:12 PM

I'd buy the 128 for sure, as the mini 9 is great for holding all my music 40gb+ and a whole bunch of videos that I have ripped over the years. It's the best travel machine I've found and having a big ssd, rather than a whole bunch of sdhc cards or such would just make it that much better for a mobile travelling entertainment center for me also.

With my slingbox, hulu, music in itunes, and my videos, this thing is just a media viewing lil monster.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
WolfKeeper WolfKeeper is offline
Retired Mini user
 
WolfKeeper's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 03-20-2009, 06:20 PM

You were LUCKY. My first computer had a cassette drive. Five minutes to load a game :mrgreen:


Getting an iPad
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
GearheadGeek GearheadGeek is offline
Member
 
Posts: 87
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 03-20-2009, 06:44 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by WolfKeeper
You were LUCKY. My first computer had a cassette drive. Five minutes to load a game :mrgreen:
Hehe... yes, but yours was probably more fun. Mine didn't do much in the way of games, though the era was probably the same. Your C64 or Vic20 (I'm guessing here) were a bit more consumer-oriented than my geeky cp/m Morrow. It does shape ones view on things, though... I put way too many mental clock cycles into deciding what to delete or archive off than I can really justify, since all my machines but the Mini9 have over 50% of their disk space free. I like to think it's more advantageous to me in my work in IT than it is a disadvantage in my personal computing.


Mini9|Obsidian Black|2G ram|32G Runcore|OSX 10.5.7
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
WolfKeeper WolfKeeper is offline
Retired Mini user
 
WolfKeeper's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,575
Join Date: Oct 2008
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 03-20-2009, 06:47 PM

You would be correct: Commodore 64. Actually, I did get a Sinclair from a relative for my birthday, but it might have been AFTER the C-64, so it was kind of a step back.

But yeah, the jump in storage going forward... yikes. C-64: floppy drives. My first IBM clone had a 20MB hard drive. After that, it gets kinda cloudy. Today? Breaking the terabyte barrier on my desktop. And they're mirrored.


Getting an iPad
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
somms somms is offline
Super Moderator
 
somms's Avatar
 
Posts: 883
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: FAA
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 04-07-2009, 12:25 AM

http://www.engadget.com/2009/04/06/vide ... on-mini-9/

Video: 128GB SSD slotted into Dell's Inspiron Mini 9


Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
Lost Symphonies Lost Symphonies is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 7
Join Date: Mar 2009
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 04-07-2009, 12:48 AM

I think I will stick with my 64gb (when it comes) and get an SDXC card when they come out and hope that the rumours of 2TB max size are true and if they work in the mini.
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
bmcclure937 bmcclure937 is offline
Super Moderator
 
bmcclure937's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,420
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: United States
Send a message via AIM to bmcclure937
Default Re: will 128gb runcore be avail for Mini - 04-07-2009, 01:02 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by somms
http://www.engadget.com/2009/04/06/video-128gb-ssd-slotted-into-dells-inspiron-mini-9/

Video: 128GB SSD slotted into Dell's Inspiron Mini 9
I did not see your post, but I made a thread on this as well... :lol:

My Thread


 Mini 10v  | 2Gb RAM | 320 Gb HDD | Ubuntu 10.04 | OSX 10.6.3 | NBI .8.4RC1 | Chameleon Bullet Theme | BIOS A05 | USB Wake : OFF | USB Legacy : ON | No BlueTooth
Meklort's Blog | NBI Google Code Page | osx.mechdrew.com -- the best OSX installation guides
Reply With Quote
Reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.