Dell Mini 9 OS X Discussion Discussion for installing and setting up Mac OS X on the Dell Mini and Vostro A90

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#21) Old
BKR2879 BKR2879 is offline
Senior Member
 
BKR2879's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Default 10-02-2009, 02:11 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnysac View Post
that makes sense, but when i tried to run netbook installer initially i couldn't select a volume, there was nothing there?

should there be one there?
If you click the drop down box it should show your volume, yes.

It didn't auto populate for me.


DELL Vostro 1720 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL XPS M1330 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL Vostro A90 - 2GB - 64GB SSD - OSX
.
Reply With Quote
  (#22) Old
funnysac funnysac is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 10-02-2009, 02:13 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKR2879 View Post
If you click the drop down box it should show your volume, yes.

It didn't auto populate for me.
sorry for my noobishness...
but what does auto populate mean?
Reply With Quote
  (#23) Old
BKR2879 BKR2879 is offline
Senior Member
 
BKR2879's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Default 10-02-2009, 02:20 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnysac View Post
sorry for my noobishness...
but what does auto populate mean?
It didn't automatically choose the volume. It came up blank waiting for you to pick it.

Some programs auto choose the target, some don't.


DELL Vostro 1720 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL XPS M1330 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL Vostro A90 - 2GB - 64GB SSD - OSX
.
Reply With Quote
  (#24) Old
funnysac funnysac is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 10-02-2009, 02:26 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKR2879 View Post
It didn't automatically choose the volume. It came up blank waiting for you to pick it.

Some programs auto choose the target, some don't.
good to know.

i have completed the cloning but im scared to do anything further!
So just so im clear, im going to turn off my vostro, unplug the hd that runs sl correctly upon pressing 0 at startup and the source for my clone, turn on the vostro, press 0, try to boot off of ssd. if that doesnt work, plug in my hard drive with the restore of sl, and run netbook installer?
Reply With Quote
  (#25) Old
BKR2879 BKR2879 is offline
Senior Member
 
BKR2879's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Default 10-02-2009, 02:35 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnysac View Post
good to know.

i have completed the cloning but im scared to do anything further!
So just so im clear, im going to turn off my vostro, unplug the hd that runs sl correctly upon pressing 0 at startup and the source for my clone, turn on the vostro, press 0, try to boot off of ssd. if that doesnt work, plug in my hard drive with the restore of sl, and run netbook installer?
That sounds right, though you wont need to press 0 once the external drive is disconnected, since the machine should default to the SSD to boot.

This link here is the program you should be running if you need to

http://netbook-installer.googlecode....00.8.2.app.zip

Then just make sure you select the SSD drive and let it do its thing.

Shut down, reboot (you shouldnt need to press 0) and it should come up.


DELL Vostro 1720 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL XPS M1330 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL Vostro A90 - 2GB - 64GB SSD - OSX
.
Reply With Quote
  (#26) Old
funnysac funnysac is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 10-02-2009, 02:41 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKR2879 View Post
That sounds right, though you wont need to press 0 once the external drive is disconnected, since the machine should default to the SSD to boot.

This link here is the program you should be running if you need to

http://netbook-installer.googlecode....00.8.2.app.zip

Then just make sure you select the SSD drive and let it do its thing.

Shut down, reboot (you shouldnt need to press 0) and it should come up.
it went to a black screen

says

boot0: GPT
boot0: testing
boot0: testing
boot0: done_


what the heck?!
Reply With Quote
  (#27) Old
BKR2879 BKR2879 is offline
Senior Member
 
BKR2879's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Default 10-02-2009, 02:48 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnysac View Post
it went to a black screen

says

boot0: GPT
boot0: testing
boot0: testing
boot0: done_


what the heck?!
Time to run the Netbook installer I think.

http://go.mydellmini.com/?id=258X408...00.8.2.app.zip

Just leave the default settings and make sure you pick the SSD drive, run it, may take a few mins, shut down, remove the external HD one last time, then power back up and hopefully boot to your new OSX desktop.

If that fails, I'm off to bed but will be here tomorrow for sure.


DELL Vostro 1720 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL XPS M1330 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL Vostro A90 - 2GB - 64GB SSD - OSX
.
Reply With Quote
  (#28) Old
funnysac funnysac is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 10-02-2009, 03:21 AM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKR2879 View Post
Time to run the Netbook installer I think.

http://go.mydellmini.com/?id=258X408...00.8.2.app.zip

Just leave the default settings and make sure you pick the SSD drive, run it, may take a few mins, shut down, remove the external HD one last time, then power back up and hopefully boot to your new OSX desktop.

If that fails, I'm off to bed but will be here tomorrow for sure.
that still resulted in the previous problem... damn.

i tried using all 8.3rc versions

i cant freaking boot to my ssd even after running netbook installer without the external hd

i guess ill try .8.2 versions to see if they work.. should i delete the previous installers?

im so discouraged
Reply With Quote
  (#29) Old
BKR2879 BKR2879 is offline
Senior Member
 
BKR2879's Avatar
 
Posts: 133
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Massachusetts
Default 10-02-2009, 12:09 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by funnysac View Post
that still resulted in the previous problem... damn.

i tried using all 8.3rc versions

i cant freaking boot to my ssd even after running netbook installer without the external hd

i guess ill try .8.2 versions to see if they work.. should i delete the previous installers?

im so discouraged
I linked to the 0.8.2 version because I kept running into problems with the 0.8.3 one. That right there might be it.


DELL Vostro 1720 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL XPS M1330 - 2.4Ghz - 4GB - 500GB - Windows 7
DELL Vostro A90 - 2GB - 64GB SSD - OSX
.
Reply With Quote
  (#30) Old
funnysac funnysac is offline
Member
 
Posts: 36
Join Date: Sep 2009
Default 10-02-2009, 01:22 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by BKR2879 View Post
I linked to the 0.8.2 version because I kept running into problems with the 0.8.3 one. That right there might be it.
I'm just going to start fresh.
I realized my problems arose when I did not have enough room on my SSD (8GB)
if I could get some help on the process involved in fitting snow leopard onto the 8gb ssd, basically actually being able to install onto it, then I would already be winning.

I have a restored snow leopard disk image on a external USB hard drive
8GB internal STEC ssd
separate external HD + multiple small flash drives
NetBoot maker/installera downloaded
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
advice, hackintosh, snow leopard, vostro a90

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.