Dell Mini 10 Guides Guides, Articles and How-To's for the Dell Mini 10

Comment
 
Tutorial Tools Display Modes
Downgrade your Mini 10v to BIOS A05 without a USB Drive (Using Windows)
Published by adster
12-10-2009
Default Downgrade your Mini 10v to BIOS A05 without a USB Drive (Using Windows)

So I got my Mini 10v earlier today and I was all gearing up to install Snow Leopard, but first I had to downgrade my BIOS as my Mini came with version A06. I had read Max_Carnage's http://www.mydellmini.com/forum/showthread.php?t=12408 to get myself familiar with the process, but wondered why we don't just go from A06 to A05 - why do we have to go back 2 revisions? The answer is that Dell didn't provide a DOS-based file for the A05 BIOS, they provided a Windows-based Flash utility bundled with the A05 BIOS.

The A05 installer is designed to error out if you have a revision higher then A05, but there's also a way to force it to flash. Here are the steps:

*WARNING*
I take NO responsibility if anything happens to your Mini 10v! I am providing the files and instructions because this is what worked for me. When you do this, you do so at your own risk!

This procedure needs to be done from a Windows environment. It doesn't matter which version of Windows (XP/Vista/7) so long as it's Windows.

1) Make sure you close all programs before attempting. The BIOS flasher reboots your computer immediately after it's done flashing and I'd hate for you to lose your thesis because you didn't save it.
2) Download 10v-BIOS-A05.zip attached to this post and extract it to the Desktop. It has been pre-configured for advanced settings.
3) Open the WINPHLASH folder and run WinPhlash.exe.
4) Click on Advanced Settings.
5) Uncheck "Flash only if BIOS is version is newer then system". Click OK.
5a) OPTIONAL: You can change the name of the old BIOS backup if you'd like, or leave it be.
6) Click Flash BIOS. Agree by clicking OK.
7) WAIT! This is VERY important! If you interrupt this process....well, you have a nice new paperweight! Even if it looks like it's frozen, WAIT IT OUT!
8) After the process is completed (mine flashed 17 blocks) your computer will reboot and CONGRATS! You now have BIOS A05 installed.

*Thanks*
-Max_Carnage for writing the initial Downgrade to A04 thread. A lot of good information there! Thank you!
-L0ST for giving me the idea from this post which is referencing a post by someone named ldoggy, which I couldn't find.
-holmes4 for providing the original link to the A05 BIOS file in this post.

P.S. First post :-)
Tutorial Tools

Featured Tutorials
Attached Files
File Type: zip 10v-BIOS-A05.zip (1.69 MB, 2887 views)
  #1  
Old 12-10-2009, 03:21 PM
DoodleWhacker's Avatar
DoodleWhacker DoodleWhacker is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Worked like a dream! I picked up my 10v this morning, and was just planning on DOS flashing to A04, when I came across this. Bravo for taking the risk, and making all of our lives easier!
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 12-10-2009, 09:28 PM
Welshman2oo5's Avatar
Welshman2oo5 Welshman2oo5 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 13
Default

works perfectly. thanks alot man!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 12-11-2009, 08:26 PM
osxminiman osxminiman is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Great guide. Just did this to my newly arrived 10v and had no problems.

Thanks!!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 12-11-2009, 11:12 PM
kylemorley's Avatar
kylemorley kylemorley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 54
Default

I tried it. Everything went fine, it started erasing and flashing blocks, 17 of them, in a brisk and reassuring manner. Got to 16 and the screen suddenly went blue with a Windows symbol and the message "Preparing to Hibernate".

That was 2 hours ago, and it still is showing the same message....


Any thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 12-11-2009, 11:46 PM
adster adster is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 4
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by kylemorley View Post
I tried it. Everything went fine, it started erasing and flashing blocks, 17 of them, in a brisk and reassuring manner. Got to 16 and the screen suddenly went blue with a Windows symbol and the message "Preparing to Hibernate".

That was 2 hours ago, and it still is showing the same message....


Any thoughts?
Oh no! I wonder why Windows was going into hibernate mode during the update? I don't want to give you bad information, but are you able to cancel the hibernate and maybe try again?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 12-12-2009, 01:00 AM
sev24sev sev24sev is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 63
Default

Worked my my new 10v too! I also had 17 blocks but it flew through them.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 12-12-2009, 02:13 PM
kylemorley's Avatar
kylemorley kylemorley is offline
Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 54
Default

It was solidly locked up, and wouldn't respond to anything. I finally restarted the machine, and it booted normally, and showed itself as having AO5!

So I guess it worked, though it has been suggested I should run the flasher again just in case it missed something due to the interruption.

I got wondering if my time to sleep and hibernate might have been set to short, and that was the problem. Mine was set to turn the HD off after 10 min, system standby at 15 minute, and hibernation not until 2 hours. Those seem to be the defaults, so not sure if they had anything to do with it, I suspect not, but if I reflash I will set them all to "Always On" just to be sure.

QUOTE=adster;125922]Oh no! I wonder why Windows was going into hibernate mode during the update? I don't want to give you bad information, but are you able to cancel the hibernate and maybe try again?[/QUOTE]
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 12-12-2009, 05:28 PM
tootsuite tootsuite is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: ZH
Posts: 2
Default Great

Well, that was easy. Flashed 17 blocks in about a minute. Auto-restarted and voila - A05. Thank you.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 12-12-2009, 10:40 PM
jaycleazy jaycleazy is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Default

Thanks so much! Worked like a charm! Really appreciate the help.
Reply With Quote
Comment

« Previous Tutorial | Next Tutorial »
Tutorial Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.