News News from the Dell Inspiron Mini Universe

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
Dunhamzzz Dunhamzzz is offline
Founder
 
Dunhamzzz's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,855
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Norwich, UK
Send a message via Skype™ to Dunhamzzz
Default Broadcom Crystal HD Accelerator Option Now Available - 02-26-2010, 02:34 PM

As posted lastnight on the Direct2Dell Blog, the new Dell Mini 10 (Inspiron 1012) can now be configured with the Broadcom Crystal HD Accelerator card, providing improved performance for decoding HD video and with the latest driver setup, HD flash videos such as Youtube, Hulu and more.

Lionel from Dell has done his homework and supplied a list of all the compatible media players (most commonplace WMP) and links to all the drives you need to get the Broadcom card into action!

Configure your Dell Mini 10 with Broadcom HD Accelerator here. Price starts from just $409.


Please do not send me support requests via PM.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
Jayin Jayin is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 02-26-2010, 03:50 PM

Can one of our Friendly neighborhood dell techs get us a part number on the card?
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
cw518 cw518 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 02-26-2010, 05:37 PM

does anyone know if this card will work if placed in a 10v and not a 10?
Reply With Quote
  (#4) Old
Jayin Jayin is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 02-26-2010, 05:52 PM

Ugh, India morons...

9:49:58 AM Deepak_172835 Thank you for staying online. I appreciate your patience.
9:50:03 AM Deepak_172835 I have checked the details of the same for you.
9:50:13 AM Deepak_172835 Crystall HD Broadcom Media Accelerator is a video card component of your system.
9:50:28 AM Deepak_172835 This is built on the motherboard and will not be available as a separate purchase.
Reply With Quote
  (#5) Old
jdcnosse jdcnosse is offline
Senior Member
 
jdcnosse's Avatar
 
Posts: 157
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: West Michigan
Send a message via AIM to jdcnosse Send a message via MSN to jdcnosse Send a message via Yahoo to jdcnosse
Default 02-26-2010, 07:33 PM

That's probably what they have to say Jayin. They wouldn't want to let you know it comes separate because then the 1012 only has the HD screen and the colored base different compared to the 10/10v. Basically it's classic salesman technique to get you to buy the newer more expensive one.

@cw518 someone here on the forums reported that they have the card(or a similiar model) working in a Mini 9...so I assume it'd work in the 10/10v.


Custom-built | AMD Athlon 64 X2 4600 | 2GB RAM | 1.4TB total HDD space | ATI Radeon HD 4650 | Windows 7 Pro 64-bit
Reply With Quote
  (#6) Old
cw518 cw518 is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 6
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 02-27-2010, 06:12 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdcnosse View Post
That's probably what they have to say Jayin. They wouldn't want to let you know it comes separate because then the 1012 only has the HD screen and the colored base different compared to the 10/10v. Basically it's classic salesman technique to get you to buy the newer more expensive one.

@cw518 someone here on the forums reported that they have the card(or a similiar model) working in a Mini 9...so I assume it'd work in the 10/10v.
Thanks for responding. I'm new to this so if anyone can tell me how to install of point me to a guide that would be great.

thanks again!!!
Reply With Quote
  (#7) Old
yakinikku yakinikku is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 252
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 02-28-2010, 11:59 AM

perhaps i am missing something but this broadcom thing is nowhere to be found in the configuration options.
Reply With Quote
  (#8) Old
yakinikku yakinikku is offline
Senior Member
 
Posts: 252
Join Date: Jan 2009
Default 02-28-2010, 12:02 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by yakinikku View Post
perhaps i am missing something but this broadcom thing is nowhere to be found in the configuration options.
sorry, couldnt find the edit button. i see it now. its not in the options, its just already showing as an installed option. its a shame that i dont see a linux option on the 1012 just yet. does anyone know if the HD accelerator will work with linux?
Reply With Quote
  (#9) Old
reflex reflex is offline
Guru
 
reflex's Avatar
 
Posts: 1,997
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default 02-28-2010, 01:08 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by yakinikku View Post
sorry, couldnt find the edit button. i see it now. its not in the options, its just already showing as an installed option. its a shame that i dont see a linux option on the 1012 just yet. does anyone know if the HD accelerator will work with linux?
Edits are disabled in the News section of the forums.

As for the Broadcom Crystal card under Linux, Broadcom has drivers on their site. But I expect the drivers will take awhile to get in shape and be supported by Linux media players.


Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
Reply With Quote
  (#10) Old
wls wls is offline
Junior Member
 
Posts: 19
Join Date: Feb 2010
Default 03-01-2010, 01:53 PM

Can anyone verify which version of the Broadcom chip is uses? 70012 , 70015 ?
It could still be on the motherboard but I would guess it's just a mini pci-e card which you can get on ebay if you have to.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
broadcom, dell mini 1012

« Dell Mini 1012 Picture Round Up | Flash 10.1 Beta 3 adds GMA 500 Acceleration Support »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off


Copyright © 2008-2016 MyDellMini.com.