Linux Forums about Linux operating systems on the Dell Inspiron Mini.

(#1) Old
Default how can i triple boot XP + Jolicloud + Moblin? - 06-02-2010, 04:20 PM

I already have a working dual boot of XP and Jolicloud but I also want to use Moblin as a third OS installed locally.
I tried installing it, but im stuck at the partition thingy, i dunno what to do in there.
Please help. thanks!
  (#2) Old
Default 06-12-2010, 01:53 PM

Sorry. I don't have much experience with Moblin.

Mini 9 | Intel 5100 Wifi | Ubuntu 10.04 Netbook
Mini 1012 | SSD | Intel 6200 Wifi | Ubuntu 11.10 64bit
  (#3) Old
Default 06-17-2010, 03:17 PM

I have no experience with Moblin at all, however, it is really just another Linux distro, so you probably just need to resize one of the existing partitions to make some free space for Moblin. You can buy something like Partition Magic to do this, or you can setup a Linux bootable USB drive with gparted installed.
  (#4) Old
Default 06-20-2010, 07:38 AM

No need to buy Parted Magic. What you want is the GParted LiveCD, which is free and very powerful.

There are plenty of guides on how to use GParted, so I won't go over that here. but this is what you want to end up doing with it (I will try to be generic in case other people want similar help):

1. Make sure your partition table is set up as MBR (Master Boot Record). You can use a GUID partition table too but trust me, that one's more of a pain in the ass. It is however the defacto way of installing OS X if you want to do some hackintoshing.