General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

(#1) Old
Default What is a minimac good for :) - 06-13-2009, 09:21 PM

Any particular apps or software that users can recommend for a minimac? Given it takes a little bit of trouble to convert a dell mini to a minimac, what made you do it and why?
  (#2) Old
Default 06-13-2009, 09:38 PM

I find the netbook to be way, way, way more responsive running OS X than it was running XP even after I dumped the majority of the Dell baggage. I picked up the Mac Box Set so I also get all of these super-elegant apps (both productivity and multimedia stuff) for a grand total of $130. From a developer's perspective OS X is just a better operating system.
  (#3) Old
Default 06-13-2009, 09:47 PM

I'm a adjunct professor at the Univ. of MD-Univ. College and I'm going on vacation for 2 weeks and I need to keep in touch with my students. I have a $3000 MacBook Pro and didn't want to haul it to the caribbean beaches. It's also harder to store in a hotel safe.

I thought it would be my portable mail and web browsing machine, if I get tired of finger surfing on my iPhone 3G. I actually made it through last summer's vacations using only my iPhone, but I found myself in the Boylston Apple Store to get more substantial work done.

I've also purchased a 6-cell battery so I can take the MacBook Mini with me to meetings, instead of my notebook. I use Evernote and it's been great. I sometimes forget my notebook at work and have to recall from memory over the weekend. This is great.

I'm actually typing this on my Mini 10v at Panera while having lunch.

Dell Mini 10v, 2GB, 120GB, 6-Cell, BT, 802.11n | Mac OS X 10.6.1 - 10v Hackintosh Guide - Get Dropbox for Mac OS X 2GB Free
  (#4) Old
Default 06-13-2009, 11:28 PM