General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

(#1) Old
Default Gray Screen Problem - 05-10-2009, 01:46 AM

Hey, I just tried installing Mac OS X 10.5.6 onto my mini 9. I followed the DellEFI instructions exactly and everything went fine through the install except at the end it said something about install failed (which I have read is somewhat common). I restarted except now every time I boot to the SSD (from the miniboot USB drive), after the apple logo and the spinning deal show up I get a blue screen for a few seconds followed by a completely gray screen with a cursor that I can move around. It always gets stuck on this screen, however. I tried the "-x" and "-f" at the boot prompt and that does not help either. Did I do something wrong along the lines? This is my first time trying this and I'm wondering if I should start over from the beginning. If it helps, I used the DellMiniBoot123v8.02b1. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!
  (#2) Old
Default Re: Gray Screen Problem - 05-10-2009, 04:29 AM

I have exactly the same problem.. re-tried for 2 or 3 times the whole process until I was about to give up installing OSX (10.5.6)

But.. I am now typing this reply in my Mini 9 with OSX 10.5.6 installed in 8GB..

The only difference I tried on my last time installing and the previous installation (vincechew's method) are..

1) The OSInstall.mpkg file. When I first copy the file into the USB key, it has a special attribute in the directory structure. For example, when I do a ls -l command, it shows:

rwxr--r--@ root wheel OSInstall.mpkg (date) (time)

The @ was puzzling me. A hard googling says that @ is the extended attribute.
But I don't know how to remove the @ in that terminal with only limited functionality (during installation). And a review in the failed installation log file complained that it cannot extract OSInstall.mpkg blah blah blah..