General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old

Default Boot drive EBIOS Read Error: Error 0x04 & OSX not recognised - 05-07-2009, 09:29 AM

Hello all
I am a noob to hackintosh and all this mini stuff. Have tried the steps outlined in a number of guides, and have a couple of issues / questions:

My hardware is - 1 * small USB and 1 * 16GB Sandisk Cruzer USB

1. On my boot disk
DellEFI 1.1 - unzipped and copied contents to root (with subdirs)
DellMiniBoot v8.02b1 - unzipped and copied contents to root (with subdirs)
syslinux -ma h:
and copied over mobilebroadband and aboutthismac

When I boot it I get the initrd and all dots, then it comes up with about 10 of these errors:
EBIOS Read Error: Error 0x04
Block 8844999: Sectors 64

I have rebuilt the drive several times, and also tried a different USB stick but still the same error.

1. On my OSX drive
Also a point of clarification, and please dont laugh !
Do I need to copy the dmg file to the other USB or expand it to be the actual folder structure ?
I have tried both but neither are recognised on the bootloader. (tylping in 81,82 etc finds nothing)
I have taken an image of the OSX retail disk, and saved it to my PC using transmac. I then uncompressed it using transmac again and then copied it over to the large USB. I then added the OSXDVD.zip contents to the root of the drive.

What am I doing wrong ?

Thanks

tinners
  (#2) Old

Default Re: Boot drive EBIOS Read Error: Error 0x04 & OSX not recognised - 05-07-2009, 10:45 PM

Tinners,

Let me begin by stating that I am by NO means the least bit knowledgable about this stuff but I had a similar error when I did my inistall via and external DVD drive. I know that you are doing the 2 USB install making your 10.5 disk with transmac.