General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

(#1) Old
Default OSX on Mini 9 - five months later - 05-06-2009, 09:30 AM

Hey everyone,

I've just written up my experiences of running OSX on a Dell Mini 9. I've been running Leopard now for five months with no problems at all - the mini is currently tucked into my rucksack on a round the world adventure.

Here's the article: ... road-test/

Thanks for the help in getting it up and running

From - your essential guide to Mobile Broadband
  (#2) Old
Super Moderator
Default Re: OSX on Mini 9 - five months later - 05-06-2009, 09:40 AM

Great blog post. Even a little jealous. That sounds like a hell of a trip you're taking. Not sure I would have the gumption for it, but there's quite a few places in Asia I'd love to visit.

Alienware M11xR2 - Core i5 1.06 - 4 GB - 250 GB HD

Triple Boot Guide - 10v RAM Upgrade Videos - mechdrew's OSX guides
  (#3) Old
Default Re: OSX on Mini 9 - five months later - 05-06-2009, 11:29 AM

Nice write up. I had a Dell Mini with Hackintosh on it until this week. It was a great little machine and for what you're doing, you need ultra mobility.

I have always had a laptop through work - Dells and multiple VAIOs - but in my recent job it wasn't part of the deal. I went the Mini because it was cheap and mobile and only found out it was Hackintosh'able by the Vodafone salesperson!!

Talked to my mate who made the OS X switch a while back and he put it on for me and I loved it. The only reason why I don't have the Dell Mini today is because of that very fact, I loved OS X so much but wanted a machine I could bear to use all day running it that I bought a Macbook aluminium 2.4GHz

I am still waiting for it to arrive, but some of the web dev tools on OS X rock, and I just wanted a decent sized screen which I was happy with using for extended periods of time. Plus the keyboard on the Mini was causing me soooo many typos, I was Mr. Parse Error's best friend for a while!