General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

(#1) Old
Default help - strip ppc - 05-04-2009, 12:25 PM

Im a newbie to MAC OSX but have completed the Leopard install on my new mini 9 ok.

I now want to slim my OS size down and have tried to install StripPPC. I have ran the .pkg 3 times and it runs and says it competed sucessfully but I cant find it in applications. A search doesnt locate it either !

Sorry to be dumb but what am I doing wrong ?

(#2) Old
Default Re: help - strip ppc - 05-04-2009, 02:06 PM

I would actually recommend a program called Monolingual. It can strip away PowerPC code, ARM code, as well as Intel 64 bit code, which you can't use because the mini 9's N270 processor is 32 bit only. You probably don't need to select to delete the ARM code, but you can save a lot of space deleting the others.

Monolingual also allows you to strip the localization information from each application. If you only use the computer in English, you can remove all the other languages from each application, and save a lot of space, also. I saved about 1.5 GB with just the language removal alone. Everything still works perfectly well, in English only, of course. If you also use your computer in several other languages, you can select to keep those languages as well as English.

A word of caution, though: Don't mess with the Keyboard input menu option in the middle, which allows you to delete foreign keyboard layouts to save even more space. If you want, delete everyone but the first option, which is apple keyboard input, or something like that. The others, like Tamil, Korean, etc. I never use. But don't delete the first, because your keyboard will stop working. That happened to me, and I had to get creative to use the computer without a keyboard and restore the bundle that had been deleted.