General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#11) Old
iAmBeer iAmBeer is offline
Junior Member
iAmBeer's Avatar
Posts: 21
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 07-30-2009, 01:21 AM

The xml file for your virtual machine should be stored at /User/[your username]/Library/Virtualbox/[OS-name]/[OS-name].xml

Dell Mini 10v | 2GB RAM | 120 GB HDD | no BT
Triple boot: Windows 7 | OS-X 10.5.7 | Kubuntu 9.04
Reply With Quote
  (#12) Old
modmymac modmymac is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 6
Join Date: Jul 2009
Default 08-03-2009, 09:28 PM

you will find it in the machine folder ~user/name/library/virtualbox/machines/namevirtualmachine/namevirtualmachine.xml
Reply With Quote
  (#13) Old
themoose themoose is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 10-26-2009, 02:59 AM

Still have a problem. Using VB3.08. Changed my .xml file to Disable VT-x/AMD- v (from "true" to "false"). Under System > Acceleration it still shows VT is enabled but grayed-out. When I start VB it seems to be starting buy no progress bar then powers off. Any other settings that I should be changing in the .xml file? I've tried changing boot order: HD, then DVD (XP install disk); DVD, then HD. If anyone needs more info to help me I can post or send my log. Thanks

Mini 10v OSX 10.5.8 1GB Ram
Reply With Quote
  (#14) Old
themoose themoose is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 14
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default 10-26-2009, 06:36 AM

I finally got VisualBox to start the XP install. I uninstalled 3.03 and installed 2.2.0 and then disabled VT-x/AMD-v in the .xml file. Looks like everything is loading OK
Reply With Quote
  (#15) Old
dbculp dbculp is offline
dbculp's Avatar
Posts: 40
Join Date: Apr 2009
Default Great Advice! - 11-23-2009, 06:53 PM

Using this thread I was able to get VirtualBox v.2 to install Windows XP, then upgraded to VirtualBox 3.0. Everything seems to be running perffectly! Thank you all!

Mini 9 with 64GB Runcore SSHD, 2GB RAM, OS X 10.6.8 (BIOS A05)
& Windows 7 (with VirtualBox)
Reply With Quote
  (#16) Old
sam21983 sam21983 is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 21
Join Date: Aug 2009
Default Virtual Box - 12-10-2009, 09:24 PM

Is there a step by step guide for installing Virtualbox and then installing windows Xp on a dell mini 10v with Osx10.5.8???

I am not sure I understand how to trouble shoot all the problems mentioned!

Thanks in advance!
Reply With Quote
  (#17) Old
chrispi79 chrispi79 is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 162
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 02-08-2010, 05:27 PM

with newest version the change from true, to false does work.

just a little change to run the great vb. Thanks for that amazing tip

mini10v | 10.6.3 | 2GB RAM | 64GB SSDNOW V-Series | NBI 0.8.4RC1 | A06 | BT:no | WAKEn LEGACYff
Reply With Quote
  (#18) Old
frankt frankt is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default 02-11-2010, 01:11 AM

Thanks for this thread to install virtualbox on mini 9. I also got some information from here: Using Windows XP with VirtualBox (Mini Hackbook).

I had a 1G system and was able to install virtualbox and allocate 512M. Installed nlite version of the mini 9 home edition, and Streets and Trips. It ran, but just barely. I went down to Frys and got a 2G card. Now everything runs great.
Reply With Quote
  (#19) Old
DougA DougA is offline
Posts: 52
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 02-13-2010, 08:14 PM

just yesterday VirtualBox came out with a new version—3.1.4

one of the fixes is this:

"VMM: activate NXE for PAE enabled guests (VT-x and AMD-V on 32 bits hosts only; bug #3578)"

I wonder if this fixes the issue that is being discussed here...?

(not sure myself)

currently I am running a very old version of VB on my Dell Mini 10v—version 2.1.4—as it is the only version I could get to run on the Mini 10v with the VT-x issue.

It is not a really big deal to me, as I only run Windows to test websites that I am coding on my Mac. (My "big, real" Mac has a more recent version of VB, and windows 7)

If anyone else wants to take the plunge and try the newest version with the fix stated above, please do comment on your success/lack of in this thread...
Reply With Quote
  (#20) Old
lowglow lowglow is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2010
Default 03-28-2010, 09:44 PM

So I just downloaded the latest virtualbox and had this Virt-ex problem. I went in the machine XML file and set everything in
<CPU count="1"></CPU> to false to see if that works and it did.

So, I'll see what needs to be false and what doesn't. but right now everything set to false works well.

Reply With Quote

« good Free application for taking and organizing notes? | Kernel Panic when scrolling down in a webpage? »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016