General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

(#1) Old
Default How To: DellEFI 1.1 / 10.5.6 for noobs using External Drive - 03-30-2009, 02:28 AM

Ok, I'm installing right now via External DVD (no mac or pc and no thumb drives). I'm going to try to clean up the directions as, well, I'm a noob on this and I keep having to follow links and go back and forth on direction sets so I wanted to at least make some type of clean DellEFI on External DVD direction set. Hope this helps someone. MOST of this is copied from forum member "mechdrew" - I just tried to simplify some of it and share my own experiences. Don't, for any reason, think I am trying to plagiarize anything, I just wanted to make a record of my own install just in case I need to do this again. SOME OF THIS TEXT IS TAKEN DIRECTLY FROM THE FAQ's and HOW-TO's WRITTEN BY MECHDREW! MOST OF THIS IS NOT MY OWN WORK!

Installing Mac OSX Leopard on a Dell Mini 9. This is my experience using a Dell Mini 9 with 16GB SSD, 2GB Ram, and a LG External "Slim" USB DVD Burner. Hopefully, this will work for you.

1. Download ONE of the following:
DellMiniBoot123v8.01 (If your Leopard DVD is 10.5.5 DVDs and below, basically if it is an older Leopard DVd)
DellMiniBoot123v8.02b1 (for 10.5.6 DVDs and above, basically means if you just bought a brand new Leopard DVD, doubtful you'll have this as 10.5.6 is only a few months old)

2. Using Toast or another burning program (you can use "Disk Utility" in your utilities folder of your OSX apps if you have Mac.) Whichever version you chose, make sure to burn it as an ISO file onto a CD-ROM or DVD-ROM. We'll call this "CD-R 1."

3. Grab another blank CD-R. Download the 10.5.6 combo update if you aren't installing from a 10.5.6 Leopard disk. (You probably aren't). Get this combo update here.

Download DellEFI 1.1 here.

Burn both files to one CD-R or DVD-R(w). We'll call this "CD-R 2".