General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
108ricky 108ricky is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Join Date: Jan 2012
Default Lion on Dell 10v? - 01-17-2012, 07:05 PM

I am willing to give my Dell 10v 2 GB of RAM for Lion to work on my 10v.

My only question is, will it work with 2 GB of RAM alone? Also, is there any sort of guides for installing Lion?
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
jmacie jmacie is offline
Senior Member
Posts: 186
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 01-18-2012, 05:39 PM

Yes 2 GB ram, lion guides no
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
Meltymac Meltymac is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 15
Join Date: Dec 2011
Default 01-19-2012, 12:34 PM

Until one of the more experienced hackintoshers provides a guide of some sort it's a no go. So far installing lion on a 10v has allegedly been achieved by a few people but they have not proved it conclusively. To say "Yay I have done it!! It works great!!" and then slink back into obscurity is a low thing to do. It's supposed to be a "hackintosh community" but where is the sense of community in that? No doubt if you rant about this like I have over these forums you will be patted on the head and be told that its "something people do in their free time" and be made to feel like you are being disrespectful. OS X lion DP1 was released in Feb 2011 the final 10.7 was released in July. It's been months now and still nothing. I personally doubt it will ever come to much more than a few bulls*hitters pretending that they have done it in some misguided effort earn some kudos.

The reason why I think it's unfeasible is because 10.7 is a 64bit OS and needs a core 2 duo processor as a minimum requirement. I really can't see it ever working on a 32bit system as is. DP1 shipped with atom kernel support and you could probably move the kernel over to 10.7. The rest of it would have to be a cross-pollinated mish-mash of 10.6, kexts from netbook installer, 10.7 DP1, and 10.7 retail. If this conglomerated mess is stable and runs smoother than 10.6.8 on a 10v I challenge any hardcore hackintosher to provide at least provide proof of concept. Probably never happen though.
Reply With Quote

« upgrading software | Can't boot into chameleon VERY frustrated »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016