General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

(#1) Old
Default Speedstep Problem on my Asus 1001HA - 09-30-2010, 12:12 PM

OK - So it's not a Dell Mini, but it's a pretty standard N270 10" netbook which is running SL like a champ apart from this one problem.

I've done an NBI install and successfully upgraded to 10.6.4, patched my DSDT and tracked down solutions to all my other difficulties (so I'm not a complete noob) but this one currently has me beat.

The Asus forums at insanelymac have drawn a blank so I thought I'd try hear where one of your guru's can at least educate me if not suggest a solution.

Ok - The problem is very simple. I went with an NBI install using the very latest version (the patched one that resolves the 10.6.4 update problem). According to what I have read here (and at Insanelymac) this should now deliver working speedstep via native apple power management without any other intervention by me.

Well when I run CPU-i it flags the 6 possible p-states for the Atom OK but in status I see that the multiplier never drops from the full speed "x 12" setting. And largely as a result of non-working Speedstep, my 3-cell 2200mAh battery lasts no more than a few mins over the 2hr mark.

What am I doing wrong? I see the latest Chameleon needs a line put in the plist to activate P-states and C-states. I explored all of the package resources for the NBI installer and can't see any obvious extra kexts or changed plist files for the Dell models which I might need to use on my Asus.

The kexts in my Extras/General Extensions folder are all pretty generic;

ElliottForceLegacyRTC (Can I remove this since I've done the RTC fix in my DSDT?)

If for some reason Meklort's tweaks can't work for me, can anyone tell me if VoodooPowerMini is worth trying or should I just knuckle down and start some serious work on my DSDT?