General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
WiKDMoNKY WiKDMoNKY is offline
Posts: 36
Join Date: Dec 2008
Default No BootCamp on my Mini? - 12-31-2008, 06:01 AM


I had my heart set on installing X (just spent 3 hours doing it) and then installing Vista via BootCamp. To my suprise, when I wnet to start BootCamp I get the erorr that my Boot ROM needs to be updated. What a waste of time!!!

Is there any way around this?

One more issue I had was that my keyboard did not work when booted into X. I followed the directions (make you OS image on a Mac, then boot off the 2 USB drives) to the T and it would detect the keyboard (or USB keyboard I would plug in), but none of the keys worked. Maybe I screwed something in the trimming of X before I made the image.

Now I am installing Vista and will try and setup X in a dual-boot in the next few days.

Man this Mini is sweet otherwise...

Mini 9 "9iNe"
Obsidian Black
Windows 7 RC1
Internal GPS Mod
2GB PC6400 Crucial
Invisible Shield Standard
Psyopper Custom Black Balistic Nylon
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
fgodfrey fgodfrey is offline
Posts: 88
Join Date: Nov 2008
Default Re: No BootCamp on my Mini? - 12-31-2008, 07:00 AM

You can find instructions on a dual-boot installation in the FAQ's and Howto's section to install both XP and OSX. Not sure if Vista will work the same way, but it's likely it will.

I'm not sure what happened with your keyboard install. I didn't do any slimming prior to installation, though.
Reply With Quote
  (#3) Old
jeffburg jeffburg is offline
Senior Member
jeffburg's Avatar
Posts: 371
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: San Francisco
Send a message via AIM to jeffburg
Default Re: No BootCamp on my Mini? - 12-31-2008, 04:19 PM

when i was trying to slim my extensions folder on a real mac i managed to disable my keyboard. all in all the extensions folder is less than 300mb... its not worth the effort needed to trim it.

Mini9 Black/32GB RunCore/1GB/BT/Leopard
2.4GHz Aluminum iMac/320GB/4GB/Leopard
1.83GHz White iMac/150GB/1.5GB/Leopard Server
733MHz PowerMac G4 40GB/512MB/Tiger Server
500MHz PowerBook G3 40GB/1GB/Tiger
25MHz NeXT Cube 750MB/16MB/NeXTSTEP 3.3
Reply With Quote

« Trouble installing - RTC error | Will this work as External DVD Drive »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016