General Mac OS X Discussion General Apple and Mac OS X Discussion

Thread Tools Display Modes
  (#1) Old
antihero antihero is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Join Date: Jan 2010
Question Wrong partitions in OSX - 01-11-2010, 06:44 PM

Hello, I've got a problem with my partitions on my hard drive. First of all I created three partitions to install osx and win7 on my samsung nc10 with cmd on windows:
list disk
select disk 0
convert GPT
create partition EFI size=200
create partition primary size=40000
create partition primary size=40000
create partition primary size=70000
list partition
format fs=ntfs quick

Then I installed OSX and then Windows 7. Now I'm booting with EasyBCD.
The third "data-"partition didn't show up in Windows 7, but in OSX. I couldn't format it with Windows, because it wanted to make a dynamic drive out of the base (? in german it's basis) drive and I think OSX wouldn't boot then anymore. So I formatted the partition in OSX in FAT32, but that didn't help either. At least I went back to Windows and added the that partition to my Win7-partition.
In OSX the last partitions still shows up as a FAT32-partition and I unmounted it (still in hard drive service app (?)) and the Windows partition is 40 gb and 60 available (free disk space is right). So I messed up with my file system.
I want to write to my windows-partition (ntfs) on osx, so I modified the etc/fstab to get write support. But it wouldn't write (error -36).
What can I do to get the real partitions show up in OSX and how can I get write support to my Windows/NTFS-partition (NTFS-3G doesn't see that partition). I hope I can solve this with a few terminal commands.



I forgot to say that I have another 128 MB partition between OSX and the Win7 partitions, don't know why.

Edit: I found the solution for this problem: Windows uses the MBR, but OSX used still the GPT, so I wiped out the GPT with GPT fdisk and now OSX uses MBR too. All partitions in the right place.
Reply With Quote
  (#2) Old
jube jube is offline
Junior Member
Posts: 29
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default 02-04-2010, 07:21 PM

How do you get OS X to use MBR. I added a data partition using Windows and now OS X can't see it.
Reply With Quote

« Help Me Install Snow Leopard Please | SECRETS Preference panel tool »
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Copyright © 2008-2016